Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
GORGEOUS! Bravo! As recommended I subbed most of a large package of frozen hash browns. Topped it with French's french fried onions and a little kosher salt and black pepper. It was creamy, flavourful, quick to make - everything I was looking for. This is TOTALLY going in my notebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this to accompany our Easter ham this year. It was SO very flavorful, and received compliments from all diners. I prepared the casserole through Step 3 the day before, and refrigerated it overnight. Immediately before baking the next day, I added the crumb topping (I also added 10 minutes to the baking time, because it had been in the refrigerator). I took the suggestion of another reviewer for adding even more flavor, and sautéed a bit of (sweet) yellow onion in the butter until translucent, before adding the soup. I used the grating disk and feeding tube of my food processor to grate the cooked and peeled potatoes with speed. To conclude: the end result was a VERY creamy casserole. I do believe that when I make it again, I will make it with 6 LARGE potatoes, so that the consistency will be firmer and more potato-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Wonderful, just wonderful. My family always enjoys this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Added ham to make it more of a main dish. Wonderful! Very filling and delicious. No changes other than adding the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This is also very good if you throw in some diced ham and make it a meal. I also used a sweet yellow onion and cooked it in the butter until translucent. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Followed the recipe exactly and found it to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have had this casserole for years and I love it! We have it not only for holidays, but for all kinds of family get togethers, it's always the first to disappear.This is a wonderful side dish for all occasions. I highly recommend it, especially if you have finicky eaters they will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was delicious and everybody really loved it. I made it as directed and it has a very, light airy, whipped potato type texture because of grating the potatoes. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Wow this was a hit! My husband ate leftovers for a couple days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States