Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Loved it! I used frozen hash browns which saved lots of work. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and and added a small can of mushrooms, which was great. I didn't have any cornflakes, so I just added another half cup of cheese as topping. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
used the hashbrowns on this one and it turned out amazing. Not sure if i even tasted any of the other food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My family has been making this for over 20 yrs. It is a holiday staple. I just made it at Thanksgiving and it went beautifully with our smoked turkey. The only difference is that we use cream of chicken soup. I personally use low fat sour cream and soup to help cut calories. You really can't tell the difference. I also use a potato ricer to make grating the potatoes easier. I've never used hash browns but have seen many versions of this recipe that use them. The cornflake toping is the best. I usually add more than the recipe calls for. I always double the recipe because the leftovers ( if any) are delish. This recipe is great for serving with any kind of meat, especially when you don't have gravy for the meat. I make it to serve with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good and simple to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I've been making a similar recipe for years! I just love it! My recipe uses the hash brown and not the potatoes, so I will have to try it with real potatoes. Also, I use cream of chicken soup instead of the mushroom, but I think you can sub any kind of cream of something soup for this recipe. I also use whatever onions that I have on hand. And for the topping, I use Rice Krispies. I love this recipe. It it always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My dinner guests loved this recipe, but I didn't like it as much as some I've had before. I think next time I will use cream of chicken soup instead. One guest said she's used cream of broccoli and cream of asparagus before too, which also sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We have this all the time! It's a given to have with an Easter or Christmas ham as they go so well together. Due to time constraints, I don't grate the potatoes but just cut them into quarters after boiling and taking the skins off, and then mash them in the pan a bit with a fork. Works just as good as grating. Also we rarely have a box of cornflakes in our house so we just cook them with a bit of extra cheese on top. They're so yummy right out of the oven with the cheese all melted. Plus they're great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I absolutely loved this and so did my kids, which made it a big hit for me, and my husband loved it even more and that made it an even bigger hit, since he's picky. I added some veggie crumbles, corn, peas and extra cheese to make it a main dish. This was so quick and easy (especially using the already shredded hash). This will most definitely be put on my dinner list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavorablesoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Not bad, but I wont rush out to make it again. The texture just wasn't my favorite. The flavors were quite nice but if I make it again, I think I will use a sharper cheese, maybe Asiago or baby Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States