Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Not bad, but I wont rush out to make it again. The texture just wasn't my favorite. The flavors were quite nice but if I make it again, I think I will use a sharper cheese, maybe Asiago or baby Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Awesome!! I only made minor changes - I diced the potatoes instead of grating them, and I stirred the crushed cornflakes into the glass measuring cup I used to melt the butter (no wasted plastic bag). Yummy! Ate the leftovers for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving...and cooked way too much of it for the family. So I ended up eating the leftovers and probably gained 5 pounds. But it's a really good recipe; however, a bit too time consuming to prepare. I usually opt for quicker things, but that's just my own preference. Great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarepta, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Delicious! I made this as one of our side dishes today for Christmas. The only thing I did differently was to add some cooked, crumbled bacon on top. It was a huge hit. My brother who hates onion ate it and ate it and ate it. I couldn't believe he liked it so well. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Despite the effort, I wasn't too impressed with this because it tasted like mashed potatoes with too much sour cream. As recommended, I sauteed some onion in the butter and added plenty of cajun seasoning. The corn flake mixture didn't really add anything to the recipe except for more oil. If I make this again I will half the sour cream and try to cut down on the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Delicious!! And the leftovers are EVEN better, because the flavors blend more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I enjoyed this dish, however, dh and my girls didn't really care for it. I had to use paper towels to get the grease off each plate. I used cream of mushroom with roasted garlic, and even then the dish needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A wonderful addition to a birthday brunch for my mum. I used a 1.5 lb bag of frozen hash browns, and added a 4 oz can of sliced mushrooms (love my mushrooms!). I spiced up the mix with creole seasoning, and baked for an hour. Delish! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Incredible! Love em. I used crushed crackers instead of the cornflakes and that's what I had on hand. Little bit of work grating the potatoes, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I have been making this for years, and it is always a hit. I do add about 1/2 of a diced onion sometimes, which makes it even better. Glad to see this posted so others can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States