In-a-Pinch Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love and appreciate this recipe almost daily. Allergic to white vinegar and corn syrup. I make this with simple syrup and ACV instead. Fills a 1 pint mason jar just for me. Makes me feel like a snob and I like it. Sometimes, I hold back salt until done simmering. Canned tomato products can be awfully salty, especially Red Gold brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I will never buy store bought again! Reading the reviews gives great ideas for customizing to suit different tastes. Thanks to all who contributed. I can't wait to try with smoke flavoring. I also like hot ketchup sometimes so I will be adding in my homemade chili pepper sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Hoekstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Absolutely loved it. Needed ketchup for my meatloaf and this was the best ketchup ever. My husband agreed. No more store bought for is, I'm making it every time. He also said it reminded him of the ketchup from the islands the real deal stuff. So thanks this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I did not use corn syrup. To make it healthier, I used coconut sugar because it doesn't mess with your blood sugar. It was too watery, so I used 2 cans of tomato paste and then it was the perfect consistency. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PikasWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was a really good start, I personally added more vinegar and decreased the amount of water (more than just for substituting the extra vinegar). Next time I make it I will use less allspice, but some certainly gives it depth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was jus t right ! Maybe a little less brown sugar, Thank you, I hate. buying ketchup or mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Awesome Recipe! So simple to make! Quite delicious and flavourful! I quadrupled the recipe and let it cook for about three hours! The next day it was the consistency of ketchup! I asked my husband to tell me what it is I was making on the stove and he replied "I don't know!" I told him it was ketchup and he said that's exactly what it tasted like I just didn't want to offend you, as he thought I was making some other type of sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Way too sweet! I was in a pinch so I also made some substitutions - no powdered onion or garlic in house so I used a clove of fresh garlic, crushed and minced onion. I needed it right away so I zapped all but the tomato paste and extra water in the microwave to melt and cook the onion and garlic. Then I added the tomato paste. I only added enough water to make it the right consistency. None of these changes would affect the sugar taste. I didn't see the point of adding lots of water just to turn around and cook it all off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I will never buy Ketchup again! My adult son told his friends that his mom's homemade ketchup is now what all other ketchups will be compared to. Thanks so much for this recipe! Just some advice: Corn Syrup is UNHEALTHY and not needed for this recipe. I've also made it without molasses (didn't have any). And yes organic DOES taste better - treat yourself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
For me, this is not just in-a-pinch -- I'd be delighted to eat this regularly! And of course it would be an excellent, probably undetectable, substitution in a recipe, too. I wouldn't necessarily make this as a standalone condiment for company, unless I knew they were interested in avoiding processed foods. But for me, I'd be thrilled to have a little puddle of this for my fries. I made a couple of minor changes. I omitted the brown sugar and corn syrup, and instead used 3T honey. Perfect. I didn't have allspice, so I didn't use it. And finally, I only simmered maybe 10 minutes, because I was in a hurry. I'm still eating it off a spoon (!) and making plans to make this stuff on a regular basis. The texture is grainier and not as smooth as the grocery store stuff (though again, I didn't simmer long), but it's also the most flavorful ketchup I've eaten. Between the lack of corn syrup and chemicals and the very tangy flavor, the prepared stuff has nothing on this. I'm sure there are recipes out there for ketchups with more depth, but this is easy enough that I can see myself making it regularly. On the whole, a great recipe, and one that I expect to be a staple for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ketchup

See how to make your own ketchup from scratch.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States