In-a-Pinch Ketchup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. I am trying to make homemade for more of my condiments but have a semi-picky husband. He loved this! He said the texture was perfect and the flavor beat store bought hands down. I did not add the corn syrup (I forgot) and I am glad I didn't. I think it would have been too sweet otherwise. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
It's pretty yummy. I needed ketchup for meatloaf and mixed all these together and skipped the water. Mixed it in and used it as the sauce. Was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I love and appreciate this recipe almost daily. Allergic to white vinegar and corn syrup. I make this with simple syrup and ACV instead. Fills a 1 pint mason jar just for me. Makes me feel like a snob and I like it. Sometimes, I hold back salt until done simmering. Canned tomato products can be awfully salty, especially Red Gold brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Marie Downour

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sugar Grove, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I will never buy store bought again! Reading the reviews gives great ideas for customizing to suit different tastes. Thanks to all who contributed. I can't wait to try with smoke flavoring. I also like hot ketchup sometimes so I will be adding in my homemade chili pepper sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Hoekstra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Absolutely loved it. Needed ketchup for my meatloaf and this was the best ketchup ever. My husband agreed. No more store bought for is, I'm making it every time. He also said it reminded him of the ketchup from the islands the real deal stuff. So thanks this one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Long

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I did not use corn syrup. To make it healthier, I used coconut sugar because it doesn't mess with your blood sugar. It was too watery, so I used 2 cans of tomato paste and then it was the perfect consistency. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PikasWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was a really good start, I personally added more vinegar and decreased the amount of water (more than just for substituting the extra vinegar). Next time I make it I will use less allspice, but some certainly gives it depth. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conway, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It was jus t right ! Maybe a little less brown sugar, Thank you, I hate. buying ketchup or mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Awesome Recipe! So simple to make! Quite delicious and flavourful! I quadrupled the recipe and let it cook for about three hours! The next day it was the consistency of ketchup! I asked my husband to tell me what it is I was making on the stove and he replied "I don't know!" I told him it was ketchup and he said that's exactly what it tasted like I just didn't want to offend you, as he thought I was making some other type of sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Way too sweet! I was in a pinch so I also made some substitutions - no powdered onion or garlic in house so I used a clove of fresh garlic, crushed and minced onion. I needed it right away so I zapped all but the tomato paste and extra water in the microwave to melt and cook the onion and garlic. Then I added the tomato paste. I only added enough water to make it the right consistency. None of these changes would affect the sugar taste. I didn't see the point of adding lots of water just to turn around and cook it all off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vegetarian Gravy

Learn the tricks to making savory gravy using only vegetable fats.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States