Impossible Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I came across this recipe idea when looking for an egg free option for another family member. I had noticed that my kids were eating out the filling of my pies and leaving the crust. It seemed a waste of my time and resources to keep making crust with the pie. I made this yesterday and we only have 1/2 the pie left! It is wonderful. It is a little firmer than the traditional recipe. I think it has excellent flavor and texture. I plan on making it again but reducing the butter by a tablespoon, just to reduce calories. I only changed the spice mixture, I used the traditional amounts of cinn, ginger and cloves. My kids ate it all and there was nothing but clean plates all around. I placed this recipe over the tradtional recipe in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I really liked this, though I think calling what it makes a "crust" is a bit of a stretch. It makes a very thin, almost-crustlike layer on top. You can't tell it's there by looking and it's only crustlike if it's completely cooled. However, it is delicious (pumpkin pie made with butter? Why didn't I think of that!) and very fast to make. I baked mine in a 8x12 baking dish so it was easier to serve it to a larger group. I'll make it again, but only when it's a circumstance when I don't really need that traditional composition of a pie with a true crust which is what I'd prefer for a traditional holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
If you can make this the day before and refrigerate it overnight, this is a pretty great recipe, however, if you are eating it the day you make it, it has a strange texture. The crust is like the eggy breadlike skin of a low-fat muffin, and it wasn't just on the bottom, but on the top of the pie. The top "crust" disappears with overnight refrigeration -- the moisture probably just softens it away. I've also tried mixing this same recipe and cooking it on the stovetop like a pudding, and it makes a very thick pumpkin pie pudding without the funny crust. If you don't want your pudding to be as thick as a pumpkin pie, reduce the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Good, but nothing to rave about. The texture was pretty much between a cake and pie filling, so it just seemed a bit odd and certainly didn't win any points for aesthetics. Flavor was pretty good though, I'd say still a good choice if you're in the mood for pumpkin pie and don't have a pie crust on hand or don't want to make one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This has been a family favorite since the first time I printed this recipe in November 2001 - I still have the original page I printed and our holiday dinners wouldn't be complete without it! I have always used the full can of evaporated milk and we all LOVE IT! Crustless - I wish every pie could be converted to a crustless version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarBunnyBlvd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: El Dorado, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used 1/2 can of evaporated milk like the submitter had suggested. I'm not sure why people think this is cakey. Mine turned out with the exact smooth pumpkin pie texture. I agree with another reviewer who said the "crust" is more like a breadcrust. I had no problem baking this in an 8" springform pan and the whole thing keeping its shape when inverted. Actually, the outside looked kind of dry and it did worry me, but the taste was heavenly (and low fat)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was great. I doubled the recipe to make 2 pies, but I only used 1 cup of sugar for both of them. I unintentionally had to use shortening instead of butter, and it was still good. It was simple to make without fussing with a crust, and it tastes great without it too. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I loved it but my DH missed the crust. Still I used less sugar and butter and subbed whole wheat for the white flour and half & half for the milk. I also added the grated rind and juice of one orange. I doubled the recipe and made 2 pies and one is already gone! Next time I'll add more orange rind and some fresh ginger too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Don't know if I did anything wrong, but I did not get anything even remotely resembling crust or cake, more custardy. It also went off really quickly (after 3 days) in the fridge compared to other pumpkin pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I accidentally made the pie with a whole can (14 oz) of condensed milk by mistake, but it turned out tasting great! As is my habit, I reduced the sugar (about 1/4 cup less, I don't like things too sweet) and also used half whole wheat and half white flour. I don't know what the texture of the original recipe is like, but this version had a thin cakey texture on top, bottom and sides, and the filling was just delicious, a hint of gooeyness, as if there was a little brown sugar in there. My hub and my reaction was "this is really good!" I'd definitely add this to my repertoire, maybe reducing the sugar to 1/4 cup, or adding none at all. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States