Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very good. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Delicious! This is the first pie I've ever made and it turned out perfectly. I shared with some friends who called it "decadent."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is yummy! The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating is the recipe is a little vague, as some people pointed out. I let the butter soften, but I found it did not mix in at all with the milk mixture, no matter how long I beat it with my mixer. Next time, I will melt the butter. Also, it didn't cook in the alloted time--I think this is because I'm at a high altitude (5000-plus feet). I went to the Bisquick Web site and they had the same recipe with slightly different/smaller measurements to fit in a 9-in. pie pan. (I used a deep square dish for this recipe, which worked fine and didn't overflow.) The site also said for high altitudes, adjust the heat to 375 degrees. Next time, I will probably just use the recipe on the Bisquick Web site. Just a note for high-altitude bakers--the Bisquick Web site actually connects to the Betty Crocker Web site, and it appears that all their recipes have high-altitude adjustment suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wow, this was absolutely delicious! Easy, too. I accidently added a bit too much milk, so I added a bit more bisquick. The filling overflowed (used a cookie sheet like others suggested) but the pie baked up so nice. I also didn't have nuts for the top so I just made a brown sugar/butter/flour crumble and it turned out wonderfully. Almost like a warm pudding-apple-yumminess that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This was very tasty and everything turned out well. I only had 5 smallish apples on hand so I halved the recipe. I melted the butter for the part you pour over the apples, but left it cold for the topping, as a previous review had suggested. Also, I baked it at a highter temp (around 350), until it started to brown, then reduced the temp so it wouldn't burn. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This came out pretty good but I did have a couple problems. This recipe doesn't say which amount of butter goes where and if you don't bake alot it's confusing. I think the submitter should have stated which amount of butter goes where..Also the strussel topping did NOT crumble and I have made crumble topping before. I tried to adjust it but it didn't work. Instead my boyfriend and I just spread it on top which was also pretty tasty. Other than these two problems it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I enjoyed the taste of this pie very much but it does take a little more work and not as quick to "whip up" as most 'impossible' pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I had some Jiffy brand baking mix I wanted to use up and a few very sad looking golden delicious apples. I only had enough for 5 cups of apples. I found the 'crust' batter to be very thin but proceeded, as I remember another reviewer commenting the same thing. After about 5 min. in the oven it started to ooze over the side of the 10 inch pie dish. To save my oven I just put a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drips. It took about an hour to bake at 325. The crumb topping is wonderful. I added 1.5 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. The spices were perfect, the apples were done perfectly, and the taste is very nice. I am whipping up some cream for the top to serve to co workers. I just had to try a small sliver to make sure it was presentable. Very easy and quick recipe, also nice because it uses ingredients one has on hand. *I also melted the butter for the 'crust' batter, but kept the butter in small cubes for the crumb topping. thanks for this nice recipe. It's different, not your average pie, cobbler, or crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This was very good! I was worried that I did it wrong, but it came out good! It it more like an apple cake that you make in a pie plate, but it was a hit here, nonetheless. I have an apple-peeler-corer-slicer from PC, so that made the process MUCH easier! THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColeSteel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
two small changes: added just a touch of honey to strousel & turned my over to broil for 3 to 4 additional minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States