Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
It took way too long to get all those apples ready for the whole thing to come out mushy and wet on the bottom, even after baking an additional 1/2 hour. Tasted pretty good but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlaudert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
The Impossible French Apple Pie recipe is really easy to follow & makes the most amazing Apple Pie that anyone in my family has ever tried. My husband really doesn't care for sweets...but after trying this Apple Pie last Christmas it has been on our table every holiday since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Very easy to make and the taste was delicious. However, even after cooking the pie for 20 minutes longer than the recipe called for it still came out soggy. I inserted the knife to be sure it was cooked all the way through and it came out clean. I pulled out the pie and let it cool. The top was crunchy, but the inside was very soft and mushy. It still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was not a favorite...I was hesitant due to other reviews on this being more custard-like. And I wondered about the bottom "crust", which I found not to be a crust at all. It just wasn't to my liking...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is by far the best apple pie I've eaten. Add to the fact it is much easier to make then using/making pie crust and you have a winner. I used apples from my neighbor's tree. She said they made wonderful pies and she was right. Thank goodness there are plenty of apples left. Will be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This had a very nice taste and texture with almost a custard-like layer between the apples. I melted the butter for the batter but used softened butter to cut in for the topping. It took alot longer than the instructed time to cook at 325°. Makes for a great breakfast treat when re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I took some liberties with this: added maybe 1c. cranberries, the apples were already seasoned from another apple pie and I used a stoneware pie plate. It took nearly 2 hours at 350. Finally I shut the oven off with the pie inside and went to do my hair - came back and it was finally done. Hopefully it eats as good as it looks - which is pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Best Apple pie I ever made! I'm not fond of regular crust so this pie is great. It is moist and yummy. I did add a bit more spice to my taste. I had to make 4 pies because everyone wanted one! Totally Yummy, thanks for the recipe! clare~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I modified this recipe a little bit by substituting rhubarb for the apples. It is more like a cobbler but very tasty with a crisp crust on the top. Delicious. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PracticeGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this with a combination of Gala and Granny Smith apples, and also walnuts and pecans. I think I prefer a traditional pie crust, but this was definitely nice for a change. Thanks, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States