Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've made this for about 5 years now. I love it. It's easy to make and with vanilla ice cream it's the best. The original recipe is on Betty Crocker and they have a video. The nutty crust is so good and you can add peaches or other fruits. I use granny smith apples and it turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter - the apple filling and topping were good but the crust was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This pie doesn't really come out like a pie. It is more like an apple bread pudding or something along that line. The ingredients made enough to fill one 9" pie dish and one of my 6" pie dishes. The presentation is so-so but the flavor is good. I will continue to look for a better french apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Umm . .WOW. So simple - so yummy . . and the house smells great! I left the nuts off all together - and because of some of the comments here - baked at 350 for the 55 minutes. . . .Turned out GREAT - and no mess with rolling out a pie crust! Made this with 5 of our fireside apples we got from the orchard last weekend. Will totally do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Adding a little rum to this recipe really improves the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Very easy recipe, just made this tonight and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again. Tastes wonderful and smells amazing also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
excellent! I made two of them using 7 granny smith apples, my family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Could not be simpler to make and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great!! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and because I didn't have a 10 inch pie pan, I used two 6 inch pans, (however it overflowed, so I wouldn't recommend that) . ALSO instead of bisquick I just made my own = 1 c flour, 1 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt.. and left out the extra oil/butter thats in bisquick normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
You can't beat this recipe in terms of simplicity. Eliminating a few steps from the traditional apple pie gives this pie a great bang for your metaphorical buck. I was making several kinds of pie at once so didn't pay particular attention to the apple to biscuit ratio, but in the future, i think I'd pile some more apple in there. It was a bit bready, but not in a bad way - the biscuit mix really complemented the apples and it tasted fresh and light. I used pecans instead of walnuts (I think walnuts add a bitter note, while pecans are light and toasty) and cut down the sugar a tad. This pie was a hit. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States