Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This pie was great and exceptionally easy to make. Most people have these ingredients in their house so that makes it even better. If you have coconut extract use that instead of the vanilla extract. If not, no biggie. I used only 3 eggs and baked it for 60 minutes as the other reviews suggested. It came out perfectly! Also- I didn't have a pie plate, so I baked it in a cake pan and it came out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
If you're looking for a light custardy pie, this is not it. Its heavy and there's not enough coconut. I gave it 3 stars because it was easy but it wasn't the classic custard I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
One of my fave quickie desserts: everybody loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCATTERFLAKE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I have made this pie before and the addition of nutmeg makes it even better..Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was easy enough I let my 6-year old make it, but tasted like I slaved for hours in the kitchen. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
There are better coconut pie recipes out there, but the combination of easy preparation with excellent taste adds up to 5 stars! I baked it in a convection toaster oven, because I didn't want to turn on the big oven. A word of warning: The pie puffed up almost 2 inches during baking, so the top was a little singed. It got rave reviews anyhow! One friend asked for the slice with the darkest top, because she loves roasting marshmallows until they're burnt. I found it interesting that a lot of people don't know about "impossible" pies. I just finished my 2nd Impossible Coconut Pie, baked it at a lower level in to toaster oven, & it looks much better. The heating in a small oven is not as even, so the hotter side will puff up higher. One of these days when the weather is cold again, I'll try using the big oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmieq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Definetley reduce the amount of eggs. It tasted too egg-y, like a coconut omlet, and like other posters said, the "crust" tasted rubbery. I don't know if I would make it again, but I would reduce the amount of eggs, increase the coconut, and use a shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
YUM-OH and super easy. I made the following changes: eggnog instead of milk, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups of coconut. and butter instead of margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Doubled the coconut, only 2 eggs, decreased sugar to 2/3c, 60 min= super coconutty goodness! Not too sweet, but incredibly rich. Sort of like a moist & creamy macaroon...yum! Fantastic and way too easy not to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emadril09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Followed recipe as-is and it turned out very good. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States