Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Have been making this for years. Sometimes I use chocolate silk instead of milk. Tonight my 7 year old grand daughter and I made individual pies in a 6 pie pan we used 1 cup almond milk 1 cup coconut milk,1/4 cup sugar and 8 packs of sweetleaf stevia, also we sparkled chopped on almonds on top and baked for 12 minutes...Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Rainbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I was expecting there to be more of a custard consistency and there just wasn't. However, the flavor was good and it could not have been any easier. My 9-year-old whipped this up in the blender while I read him the ingredients. If you are using sweetened coconut, decrease the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is a perfect pie. I sent this to my daughter and she has made it three times already. No changes to be made, followed recipe and it turned out yummy. KC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Sorry, my household did not care for this at all. It tasted just like scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This pie is not as amazing as everyone says. I don't think it's bad, but it really doesn't taste very coconutty. I used 1 cup of coconut milk and extra coconut and I still don't find it tasting like much more than sugar/eggs and butter (which I used instead of margarine). I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Made the pie as written. Found it to be overly sweet and not having a texture that beckons you to sample another bite. Have made many similar type coconut pie, therefore would have to rate this receipe on the lower end of the five star scale due to the amount of sugar as well as the lack of desired texture. Presentation was pretty upon removal from oven, only good thing to really say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I tried this exactly as listed the first time, and agree with previous reviewers. Too eggy. Then I followed some of the other's advice (2 whole eggs, 2 egg yolks, increase coconut to 1.5 cups, sprinkle additional coconut on top) and it came out perfect! Give it time to cool a little then wrap it in foil and stick it in the fridge. I don't know why they call these "Impossible", but we call it Revenge Coconut Pie, because it's a dish best served cold. Make those changes, and you have a 5 star, super easy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Love this pie. I'm a baker of cupcakes for a living, so we have so much cake around that my man and son love pie for a change. Plus with all the baking all day, I like to try to keep things simple. This recipe was so easy (took like less than a few minutes) and hits the spot. I did make 2 changes; 1st I used coconut milk instead of regular and 2nd I cut the white sugar in half and used light brown sugar also. Turned out yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetHeart Cupcake Shop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We love this pie and have made it countless times. I usually use 3 eggs, because I buy x-large or jumbo size. I made a big mistake with my last pie and had to throw it in the garbage, so I'm writing to tell everyone NOT to use Splenda. I tried it this time with all Splenda (no sugar), and it was almost inedible. The Splenda aftertaste was terrible! Stick to the recipe, as written, and you'll have the best results. Oh, Bisquick or Pioneer baking mixes work well with this in place of flour. UPDATE 3/16/12 -- I wised up and started mixing the ingredients in a blender (as recipes states) rather than with a mixer. Makes the coconut a finer texture for the pie, which we like. Love Love Love this pie, because it cannot get any easier than this, and it's so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wonderful!! I needed to use up some eggs and milk and made this as written except that I used butter for the margarine and baked it about 55 minutes. Oh, was it good!! I'm sure to make it again and again. Extremely easy to make as well. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE

Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States