Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My mom made this all the time for a weeknight dessert when I was growing up. This is one of those old standby recipes that you can whip up anytime you are craving something sweet; the ingredients are almost always on hand and you can mix this up faster than a cake mix. I also like that it's good both warm and cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
OMG! So good, this pie didn't last at my place! Use 2 eggs and 1/4 cup more coconut. I made mine in the cake mixer and chucked the nutmeg in the mix too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLilley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
We love this pie! Super easy, super good! If you like custard you will love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
It definitely was quick and easy but it is not something that I would make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I agree very much with the previous rater. The recipe couldn't be easier. I enjoyed the pie very much, although I will probably use three eggs instead of four. I thought the fourth egg made it a little too eggy. My friend, who I consider a marvelous cook, thought the pie was flawless. Yes, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I read all reviews before I decided to make this. It was simple, quick (you just stick everything in a blender), and really good. I added 14 oz. of coconut as that's what my frozen bag was and I read how people were adding more and figured why not, and 3 jumbo eggs. I baked it an hour. My husband liked it warm and it's good warm/cold, but if you want the firmer texture you need to leave it in the fridge. The only reason I can think of for any negative review of this recipe is people making the wrong recipe. If you want to invest a mere several minutes prep time, you should make this - it's excellent for what it is! - but if you want minimal work yet are expecting the outcome of a gourmet coconut pie you'd find in a restaurant.. it's common sense. I noticed one reviewer said it "doesn't make its own crust." Again - if you are expecting to open the oven door and suddenly see a dough crust magically formed around the pie, you shouldn't be making this recipe. But if you're cool with a "crust" (a.k.a. firm, golden texture all around the pie that makes it totally non-stick and easy to lift out - I used a clear glass pie dish so I could see what the outside was doing, and when I ate it the edges were chewy) then this recipe is for you. The only thing I would add next time is a little salt, I think it will accent the flavor. Hope this is helpful to someone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I added an extra half cup of coconut... not intentionally, my fault for measuring over the bowl. It came out so YUM! I had it warm, and I can't wait to try it cold! Oh, and I DID bake it for one hour. (The sides rose first, then the center, it needed the extra time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I've been baking this pie for 35 years. It IS wonderful. I noticed serveral folks commented that it took longer than 45 minutes to bake. My recipe says to bake the pie for 60 minutes at 350, not 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
interesting... didn't taste like coconut to me but it did taste like a custard. The "crust" formation was definitely different. It took longer than 45min b/c I kept thinking it wasn't done due to the "wet look" but after I let it set overnight, it congealed wonderfully. The top had a golden brown. I used almond extract as well. We both liked it but wouldn't call it a pie... 5 stars for it's level of easiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Somewhat like coconut custard pie. The easiest last minute dessert. I always have these ingredients on hand, it takes minutes to make and requires very little clean up. It has been a very big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States