Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was easy enough I let my 6-year old make it, but tasted like I slaved for hours in the kitchen. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
There are better coconut pie recipes out there, but the combination of easy preparation with excellent taste adds up to 5 stars! I baked it in a convection toaster oven, because I didn't want to turn on the big oven. A word of warning: The pie puffed up almost 2 inches during baking, so the top was a little singed. It got rave reviews anyhow! One friend asked for the slice with the darkest top, because she loves roasting marshmallows until they're burnt. I found it interesting that a lot of people don't know about "impossible" pies. I just finished my 2nd Impossible Coconut Pie, baked it at a lower level in to toaster oven, & it looks much better. The heating in a small oven is not as even, so the hotter side will puff up higher. One of these days when the weather is cold again, I'll try using the big oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmieq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Definetley reduce the amount of eggs. It tasted too egg-y, like a coconut omlet, and like other posters said, the "crust" tasted rubbery. I don't know if I would make it again, but I would reduce the amount of eggs, increase the coconut, and use a shortbread crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
YUM-OH and super easy. I made the following changes: eggnog instead of milk, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups of coconut. and butter instead of margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Doubled the coconut, only 2 eggs, decreased sugar to 2/3c, 60 min= super coconutty goodness! Not too sweet, but incredibly rich. Sort of like a moist & creamy macaroon...yum! Fantastic and way too easy not to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emadril09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Followed recipe as-is and it turned out very good. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
So simple to make and delicious. I have been making this for years! Great easy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
My grandma has made this for years, and it's soooo good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Excellent dessert I did add thinly sliced rhubarb and it was delicious. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Instead of 4/4 cup I used 1 cup of sugar; 1/4 cup of margarine, don't know if that is actually 6 tbsp. I baked it for 60 minutes instead of the 45. It was delicious even cold. Crust was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States