Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I tried this exactly as listed the first time, and agree with previous reviewers. Too eggy. Then I followed some of the other's advice (2 whole eggs, 2 egg yolks, increase coconut to 1.5 cups, sprinkle additional coconut on top) and it came out perfect! Give it time to cool a little then wrap it in foil and stick it in the fridge. I don't know why they call these "Impossible", but we call it Revenge Coconut Pie, because it's a dish best served cold. Make those changes, and you have a 5 star, super easy pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Love this pie. I'm a baker of cupcakes for a living, so we have so much cake around that my man and son love pie for a change. Plus with all the baking all day, I like to try to keep things simple. This recipe was so easy (took like less than a few minutes) and hits the spot. I did make 2 changes; 1st I used coconut milk instead of regular and 2nd I cut the white sugar in half and used light brown sugar also. Turned out yummy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetHeart Cupcake Shop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
We love this pie and have made it countless times. I usually use 3 eggs, because I buy x-large or jumbo size. I made a big mistake with my last pie and had to throw it in the garbage, so I'm writing to tell everyone NOT to use Splenda. I tried it this time with all Splenda (no sugar), and it was almost inedible. The Splenda aftertaste was terrible! Stick to the recipe, as written, and you'll have the best results. Oh, Bisquick or Pioneer baking mixes work well with this in place of flour. UPDATE 3/16/12 -- I wised up and started mixing the ingredients in a blender (as recipes states) rather than with a mixer. Makes the coconut a finer texture for the pie, which we like. Love Love Love this pie, because it cannot get any easier than this, and it's so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Wonderful!! I needed to use up some eggs and milk and made this as written except that I used butter for the margarine and baked it about 55 minutes. Oh, was it good!! I'm sure to make it again and again. Extremely easy to make as well. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OhioKEE
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This pie was great and exceptionally easy to make. Most people have these ingredients in their house so that makes it even better. If you have coconut extract use that instead of the vanilla extract. If not, no biggie. I used only 3 eggs and baked it for 60 minutes as the other reviews suggested. It came out perfectly! Also- I didn't have a pie plate, so I baked it in a cake pan and it came out fine. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hadorsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
If you're looking for a light custardy pie, this is not it. Its heavy and there's not enough coconut. I gave it 3 stars because it was easy but it wasn't the classic custard I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
One of my fave quickie desserts: everybody loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCATTERFLAKE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I have made this pie before and the addition of nutmeg makes it even better..Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was easy enough I let my 6-year old make it, but tasted like I slaved for hours in the kitchen. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
There are better coconut pie recipes out there, but the combination of easy preparation with excellent taste adds up to 5 stars! I baked it in a convection toaster oven, because I didn't want to turn on the big oven. A word of warning: The pie puffed up almost 2 inches during baking, so the top was a little singed. It got rave reviews anyhow! One friend asked for the slice with the darkest top, because she loves roasting marshmallows until they're burnt. I found it interesting that a lot of people don't know about "impossible" pies. I just finished my 2nd Impossible Coconut Pie, baked it at a lower level in to toaster oven, & it looks much better. The heating in a small oven is not as even, so the hotter side will puff up higher. One of these days when the weather is cold again, I'll try using the big oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmieq

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States