Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by crabbymom
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
At best this is just okay- and that was WITH recommended modifications. I used 3 eggs instead of 4 (and it was still WAY too eggy) and increased the coconut (and it could use more) and it still lacks.... something. Its not bad for a quick and easy desert, but I can't see myself making this one again. I also used cream instead of milk, which should have made (what was supposed to be) a good recipe even better. nope. oh well. lolol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Added more coconut, about an 1/8 of a tsp. of coconut extract, and baked for an additional 15 min with the outer edge covered by foil. This pie is ridiculously simple, made with ingredients I had on hand. And it was delicious! It'll definitely be a staple in our house, as we both love coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I do not like cooking or baking and this was so easy I had to try it..GREAT!! It did take a little longer to cook than stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Used 3 full eggs, 1.5 cups of coconut, double the nutmeg. I liked it best after a day in the fridge, but received good feedback from those who had some on the same day it was made. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I WANTED TO DO A QUICK SOMETHING FOR A FRIDAY NIGHT BOARDOM .I LIKETO SURORISE MY HUBBY.WOW MY HUBBY LOVED IT.NOW HE ASKS FOR IT OFTON.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This came out WONDERFUL! The changes I made were using soy milk, sweetened coconut and only used 1/2 C raw sugar and coconut oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe for those that don't like sweet sweets. It is light on the coconut (so I did add more). It's a very heavy, custard/flan type pie. It wasn't MY favorite, but I had many genuine compliments. It was easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Love this pie! So easy to make! My mom hates coconut so I don't use it when I make it but I keep everything else the same and it is so good! I have made it a few times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It is easy, but it certainly is not fast. Mine took closer to an hour and a half. At 45 minutes it was still completely liquid. After waiting twice as long as I thought for the pie to bake, I was very displeased with the texture and flavor. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't very good. Kind of a weird custardy, egg texture. Much more like flan than pie and the flavor wasn't bad, there just wasn't much of it... pretty bland (I even added coconut extract!). I couldn't even get anyone else to try a piece :( Sadly I will not be making this pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Make certain to press the coconut flakes or shreds into a one cup measure. Press hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States