Impossible Coconut Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My mom and I have been baking this pie for years. We make it for every big holiday and it is always a hit. Make sure you really grease the pie plate or the pie will fall apart when you try to pull it out. It's awesome topped with cool whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great "as-is" in the recipe the 1st time I did it! 2nd time,since my family dislikes coconut, I ommited the coconut and made it with a touch of almond xtract in the filling. When I removed it from the oven I then topped it with Raspberry jam(slightly micro'd easier to spread)then let it set till cool. My family prefers it cool (even cold), warm or cool it's..... Awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Auger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
GREAT PIE! This pie is so simple to do. I throw all the ingredients into a blender, including the cup of coconut, and pour into a buttered pie dish. Then I top it off with extra coconut. 40 minutes is the perfect baking time. It always disappears. Thank you Rosie De Coito for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is one of my all time favorite quick and easy recipes! Warm egg custard taste with a hint of coconut throughout. I add coconut to the blender as well as to the top. Yummmm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
My Mother In Law made this pie for our family, we love Coconut but my kids didn't care for the jellied crust. It has a defninte egg-y flavor sort of like tapioca. If I am going to the trouble to bake a pie I would just as soon make a real crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My mom has been making this for years, I call it Mrs McClure's Coconut pie. She was a neighbor a the cabin that gave my mom the recipe. It's fast and easy. I have cravings for it sometimes and it brings back wonderful memories of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eastpointe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I found this same recipe in an old cookbook I bought at a garage sale, titled, You've Got to Be Kidding! It also features other delectable delights such as Earthworm Cookies. This pie is absolutely delicious and amazing because it makes its own separate crust, filling and topping; all out of the blender! My recipe instructs to blend as you count slowly to 10, and it instructs to put the coconut in the blender with the other ingredients. As such, it provides a nice buttery topping for the pie. It also fools skeptics of the pie who think they don't like coconut. This is a definite keeper in our house. If you love custard, you'll love this pie. Incidentally, I do not try the Earthworm Cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I chose this recipe because one reviewer had said it was very "custardy"...we LOVE custard!! We LOVED this recipe...I can't wait to make it again...and again. I screwed it up and added the coconut to the blender...oops...so I also added more coconut to the top...it was fantastic!! Wonderful custard like "pie" that tastes like a macaroon! I had to bake mine a little longer than the recipe calls for. About 10 extra minutes. Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This is great comfort food. Ingredients I had on hand (but my aking mix was over a year past Use-by date) and turns out yummy. We ate it warm. The little left in the fridge was not so good. Will get more Bisquick and keep this one in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I LOVE impossible pies because I am a big custard lover & I'm sometimes lazy. ;o) I had a cuban theme going so I used rum extract instead of vanilla (wasn't very "rummy" tasting...I think next time I may use real dark rum) & I garnished w/ a small pile of edible flowers in the center of the pie. It looked incredible & I only spent about 5 minutes on it. ;o) I think my guests were more impressed w/ the ease of this recipe than anything. So if you really wanna show off...make it in front of them & let them see how it's just "thrown" in a blender. I wasn't able to get a pic because the batteries were dead in my camera but I'll be making this again. And again & again & again. ;o) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States