Impossible Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
If you don't have baking mix, just use: 1/3 cup and 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour 1 teaspoon baking powder 1/2 teaspoon white sugar 1/8 teaspoon salt 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
No frills, no crust - just a nice simple pie. The texture is like a sugar cream pie. I used Bisquick ® Heart Smart for the baking mix and it worked just fine. It doesn't say to refrigerate the pie, but I did on the second day. I actually really enjoyed this as a cold pie better then a room temp pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
It's WAY too sweet and mine took over 50 minutes to set. That said, the fundamental idea is sound and if you cut the sugar (and add flavorings- I recommend coconut extract) this can be very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This is amazing. I adore buttermilk pie, but sometimes I dont feel like going through all the work! This is almost a perfect substitute (the original is still the best)! I was worried about the baking soda in the bisquick, but you cant taste it. It came out a bit runny after 30, but just so yummy! Try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
YUM!! My hubs has really mainstream (meat and potatoes, nothing special) preferences, so I wasn't sure about this. He loved it. I loved it. Perfect first time around. I did some substitutions. Lemon+whole milk for the butter milk. 1/2 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/2 plus a little of white cake mix, and left the vanilla, eggs, and butter the same. My oven runs hot, and it took 33 min. Golden top. Texture slightly curdly, but not at all unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rochelle
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a great/quick recipe for a late night sweet tooth. I cut the recipe and made 1/3 of the batter and added a few dashes of cinnamon. I topped with a dusting of powder sugar. This was a very sweet treat next time will reduce the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Photo by latiina
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
i made this after looking for recipes that used buttermilk. i had no idea what a simple recipe like this would taste like. i added 1 tsp of vanilla & 2 tsp of sweet almond extract. i also did not have a 9inch pie pan, so i used my 8x8 pan & cooked for 40min. the taste was really good & it took me awhile to figure out what it taste like. it taste like flan! i love how the texture changes thru out the pie, but it is the same mixture through out. if i made it again now knowing what it taste like, i'd add some caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latiina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I had extra buttermilk and stumbled upon this recipe. I made one pie just like this recipe. and the second pie I used one cup of sugar and melted half a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips it turned out pretty good. this is a very rich dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeautifulNameX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
So easy and so delicious! We all loved it. Topped with frozen berries and bananas foster and fresh whipped cream! So good it doesn't need toppings though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States