Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Two words- D O G F O O D ! We followed the recipie to a T and it was gross. Kind of like baking refried beans with thyme and onions. I am a carnivore, my wife is a vegitarian and we both hated it and couldn't even choke it down. This is a huge waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I found this recipe on accident with perfect timing as I had just made lentil soup and had lots of left overs. Not much of a cook but thought hey why not - so made it with leftover soup and instead of all the seasoning type stuff threw a packet of meatloaf seasoning in with classico 4 cheese inside and out and a sharp cheddar topping -- WONDERFUL!! Thanks for the idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannie Kessock
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Suprisingly good. Its easy to make and inexpensive. Easy to customize and add flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
A great place to start from, I used flaxseeds instead of wheat germ and I sauteed some leeks and garlic with herbs before adding to the mix. I also thought it might be a bit dry so I added more crushed tomatoes and it turned out great. Hard to get my boyfriend excited about imitation meatloaf but he loved it and the leftovers were the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rslycat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
While I wouldn't really call this a "loaf", what came out of my oven was really delicious! My concoction was a bit mushy and didn't hold together but that was probably due to the following changes I made: omit wheat germ, add shredded zucchini, carrot and celery, add one can diced oregano and basil tomatoes. It was really very good with these changes and made a ton! My husband enjoyed it as well and is happy to have a lot of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was filling and tasty. A little salty, so you might want to use low-sodium soy sauce, bread crumbs, etc. Panko breadcrumbs helped reduce the salt. We used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
very good flavor. My kids liked it and that says a lot! It was a little dry, but I can work that out. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
It was good, but just not the best lentil meatloaf recipe out there. I felt like it was missing something. I added carrots and celery for some color and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I thought this "meatloaf" was okay tasting. I ended up adding twice as much rice to the batter because I made it too salty, so the extra rice fixed that. What I wasn't crazy for in reality was the thyme taste, it was only a tsp but I thought it was strong. I will make again with another spice of my preference. My husband LOVED exactly how it came out and said he wouldn't change a thing. He wants me to make it regularly, so I guess that is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
It was a little dry not too bad, but also lacked flavor for my taste. Needs garlic and a glaze. I made a sauce after the fact just a simple ketchup, mustard and brown sugar mix, which helped. My husband says he would eat it again with the slight changes, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States