Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I love all the ingredients separately, but apparently not together. Maybe it was just too much filler (bread crumbs, wheat germ?) and not enough good stuff? Plus, I followed directions exactly and it was still a soggy, hard-to-slice mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was very mushy--when I tried to cut slices of the loaf I failed horribly, had to scoop out with a spoon instead. Maybe it was undercooked? Decent taste, but not amazing. Overall, good but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe except I used soy mozzarella cheese. Next time I would put less wheat germ and add some ground flax seed. Also, it needs more spices. And I'd use pasta sauce instead of crushed tomato, and use more than 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was OK. I used BBQ instead of ketchup and added 4 cloves of garlic, halved the onion (it was still a lot!), and threw in a little frozen peas and carrots. It was still really bland and I have a TON of it left over that will probably never get eaten. Overall, it's interesting but too much of a pain to make for what it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMEE16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is great! I've already made it twice. The first time I followed the recipe to a T and it was pretty good, just a little bland. The next time I was out of eggs, so I substituted a can of condensed tomato soup and left out the tomatoes. I also doubled all of the seasoning ingredients and made a ketchup and brown sugar glaze for the top- it was moist and very flavorful. My non-vegetarian boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was DELICIOUS! I left out the wheat germ and added about a 1/3 cup of chopped jalepenos. Yum, yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristinaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a great starter recipe. Next time I'm going to add a ton more veggies and seasoning. Next time I will be dicing garlic and celery for this, plus I will add some season salt or something. If you don't mess with the recipe, you get a bland meatloaf. I'll definitely be making this again, I will just be adding a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was soooo good. I served this with rolls and a country gravy with some added onion and garlic powder and it was delightful! I can't wait to make it again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestic DIY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. Tastes nothing like meatloaf- or anything I would ever eat or feed anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Two words- D O G F O O D ! We followed the recipie to a T and it was gross. Kind of like baking refried beans with thyme and onions. I am a carnivore, my wife is a vegitarian and we both hated it and couldn't even choke it down. This is a huge waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States