Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was pretty good and I think with some tweaking it would be really good. Make sure you cook the lentils long enough to get them really soft. I should have added the extra water that another person suggested because mine were still a little too firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I was really hoping I liked this, but I didn't. I think it has potential, but because it takes so long to make I don't think I would make this again. It did look like meat, but it was dry and after a few bites it wasn't good. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pixi
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This had way too much filler and not enough "good stuff," so to speak. It looked like a big warm loaf of bread with specks of black beans (which I used in place of lentils). The flavor was good, though... Next time I make this, I will probably halve the wheat germ and bread crumbs and double the lentils/beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I feel like I must start off saying that I love all types of food. I just didn't like this recipe. I think it is the wheat germ that I didn't like. The meatloaf had an unpleasant taste. I ended up throwing it away after a few bites. I am sure this is just a matter of personal taste since several others really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Pretty tasty! I made a bunch of changes, though. I added 1 tsp ground cumin to the lentils as they were cooking, substituted 1 cup of bread crumbs with Stovetop stuffing (I ran out of breadcrumbs), substituted the soy sauce for worchestershire, grated a carrot and threw that in, and used a sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. I also doubled the amount of hot sauce and topped the loaf with a thin layer of BBQ sauce and more sharp cheddar cheese. For a vegetarian meatloaf, this came out much better than I was expecting. I think with a little more tweaking it could be 5 stars - It still came out a tad bland, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Meatloaf was good but the calorie count is so high for a single serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe was a lot of work for such a bland dish. I left out the hot sauce, because my 21 month old son would be eating it, but other then that I followed it exactly. Unfortunately disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Guy-pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Fantastic texture and flavor! A great tasting and nutritious option for meatless meals that doesn't sacrifice a thing. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I like this recipe. It's very versatile. I made it for a friend, left out the thyme and hot sauce and added paprika, and used less ketsup (she's diabetic) added alittle liquid smoke and used sharp cheddar instead of the mozzarella. After its refrigerated, it slices nicely and reheats well for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States