Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is now one of my favorite fake meat recipes. I did alter slightly. I replaced wheat germ with flax seed meal, used fresh bread crumbs, used a couple sprinkles of dried minced onion instead of fresh, used cheddar cheese and covered top with barbecue sauce. Also, replaced crushed tomatoes with 1/3 cup marinara sauce. Good texture and flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
This is a fabulous recipe for our vegetarian household! Cook the lentils and rice with more water than usual to make the loaf not so dry. I also mix a little cheese into the loaf and then sprinkle some more on the top. This is truly the best vege-loaf I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was REALLY good, moist and tasty. I used fresh breadcrumbs instead of dried (4 slices wholemeal bread), green lentils instead of brown, left out the wheatgerm, added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, 1 shredded carrot and 2 sticks chopped celery. Also I topped it with BBQ sauce before cooking, and cooked for 1 1/2 hours. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
WOW!!! If I hadn't made it myself I would have had to ask the cook if they were sure there wasn't any meat in it. This recipe is much better than "real" meatloaf. I added 1/2 c. of Italian stewed tomatoes and juice from a can instead of 1/3 c. and I put ketchup on the top for the last 1/2 hour of baking time. Other than that, I wouldn't (and won't) change a thing. It's also very good as cold leftover sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I had no thyme for this recipe, so, in a panick, substituted some basil and oregano instead, which I'm sure influenced the flavour! I also used a bit more sauce than was specified, and spread some sauce and ketchup mix on the top. It turned out a little bland but was good with salt and pepper. VERY FILLING, may I add. I grated mozzarella on half the top and parmesan on the other- both were excellent! Sidenote: lentils do not mash very well when they're cold!!! Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I veganized this recipe (ground flax seeds and extra tomatoes instead of eggs, and brewers yeast instead of cheese). It was quite good, and I think that I could get away with feeding it to my non-vegan family without them realizing that it is not meatloaf. It was great with a side of baked tomatoes as "gravy". I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I don't know why other reviewers thought this was dry unless they baked it longer than one hour. As I assembled it, I expected it to be dry and made some gravy in anticipation, but it was really great, texture wise. I will definitely make this again, but will tweak it a bit to make it more like Mom's. I plan to add onion, celery, and bell pepper, and top it with ketchup, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I like this recipe. It's very versatile. I made it for a friend, left out the thyme and hot sauce and added paprika, and used less ketsup (she's diabetic) added alittle liquid smoke and used sharp cheddar instead of the mozzarella. After its refrigerated, it slices nicely and reheats well for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was AWFUL - my husband and I have been married almost 5 years, and this is the first meal he has ever not liked. He is not a picky eater at all and likes all the new things I cook, but after my son and I tasted it, and after just looking at it, he didn't take one bite. It was horrible, plus it was a pain to make. Not worth the trouble, even if it wasn't any trouble. The worst meal I have ever tasted (except for my side dishes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
especially good reheated the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States