Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Lovely recipe! I did make some changes, however. First, I added crumbled fresh bread, as suggested by another reviewer, and added about a teaspoon of garlic powder which was also suggested. No hot sauce for me, please :) I also put a can of tomato soup over it an hour into baking. I pulled it out to check it but it wasn't done and it was kind of bland and dry, so that's how the soup got there. I baked it another hour, but that turned out to be too long. I would suggest baking it an hour and a half, otherwise it really starts to dry out. I realized too late that I don't like thyme, so next time I'll just omit it all together. It still turned out tasting pretty good. I'll certainly keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Delicious! I was worried about it being dry as reviews mentioned so I used a whole cup of lentils, less breadcrumbs - maybe one cup (I only had Italian) and more tomatoes. It was really really tasty. I did have a disaster when trying to get it out of the pan though oops - don't know the trick there, maybe line the pan? Mine took 1.5 hours to cook properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Wow! I did not expect this to turn out very well, especially after I screwed up the recipe several times. I only had 1/3 cup of brown rice, so I added more lentils to even it out a bit. I also didn't have any wheat germ. I substituted cheddar cheese for mozzarella since we were all out of that too. Oh, and I forgot to cover it while it was cooking. It turned out great! Definitely a recipe I'll keep, but I can't wait to also try it with the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I made this for my meat loving husband and my father. My father wanted the recipe--I'll never tell and my husband requested this for dinner the other night. I skipped the wheat germ and the ketchup because I didn't have either on hand. I am using fresh thyme now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Edible, but it didn't impress my non-vegetarian roommates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Very good. I modified it a little, used only a small onion, added a tbsp. of fresh garlic and added a ketchup/brown sugar glaze. The recipe was good, I'm definitely glad to have a veggie meatloaf option, but it needed the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This recipe ROCKED! Wow...it brought back childhood memories of my Mom's meatloaf. Now that I am vegetarian I thought I would never taste a meatless "meatloaf" that was so tasty. Kudos to the chef!! YAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I was looking for a way to use my lentils and I had to go out and buy more so I could make this again. It doesn't taste meatless to me. It obviously doesn't have beef, but I would have guessed ground turkey. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I had no thyme for this recipe, so, in a panick, substituted some basil and oregano instead, which I'm sure influenced the flavour! I also used a bit more sauce than was specified, and spread some sauce and ketchup mix on the top. It turned out a little bland but was good with salt and pepper. VERY FILLING, may I add. I grated mozzarella on half the top and parmesan on the other- both were excellent! Sidenote: lentils do not mash very well when they're cold!!! Good recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
dry and bland but not too bad. dont think i will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States