Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pixi
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This had way too much filler and not enough "good stuff," so to speak. It looked like a big warm loaf of bread with specks of black beans (which I used in place of lentils). The flavor was good, though... Next time I make this, I will probably halve the wheat germ and bread crumbs and double the lentils/beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I feel like I must start off saying that I love all types of food. I just didn't like this recipe. I think it is the wheat germ that I didn't like. The meatloaf had an unpleasant taste. I ended up throwing it away after a few bites. I am sure this is just a matter of personal taste since several others really like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Pretty tasty! I made a bunch of changes, though. I added 1 tsp ground cumin to the lentils as they were cooking, substituted 1 cup of bread crumbs with Stovetop stuffing (I ran out of breadcrumbs), substituted the soy sauce for worchestershire, grated a carrot and threw that in, and used a sharp cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. I also doubled the amount of hot sauce and topped the loaf with a thin layer of BBQ sauce and more sharp cheddar cheese. For a vegetarian meatloaf, this came out much better than I was expecting. I think with a little more tweaking it could be 5 stars - It still came out a tad bland, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Meatloaf was good but the calorie count is so high for a single serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This recipe was a lot of work for such a bland dish. I left out the hot sauce, because my 21 month old son would be eating it, but other then that I followed it exactly. Unfortunately disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Guy-pleasing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Fantastic texture and flavor! A great tasting and nutritious option for meatless meals that doesn't sacrifice a thing. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I like this recipe. It's very versatile. I made it for a friend, left out the thyme and hot sauce and added paprika, and used less ketsup (she's diabetic) added alittle liquid smoke and used sharp cheddar instead of the mozzarella. After its refrigerated, it slices nicely and reheats well for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very good! A few minor changes... I didn't have any onion, so I threw in about half a packet of dry onion soup mix. Added a few more herbs and made a glaze for the top. This had wonderful texture and flavor. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the rice & lentils in more water than normal so the loaf would be moist. I totally forgot to mash the lentils, but it didn't seem to matter at all. I think next time I will add some shredded carrot or zucchini too. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
A great veggie meatloaf. I might try adding portabello mushrooms next time. We also used the last of our beef stock to cook the lentils which was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States