Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
It was a little dry not too bad, but also lacked flavor for my taste. Needs garlic and a glaze. I made a sauce after the fact just a simple ketchup, mustard and brown sugar mix, which helped. My husband says he would eat it again with the slight changes, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe is great! I added some italian seasoning, pepper, and garlic. I also prepared the loaf pan with a layer of brown sugar and then some ketchup. Then I put the meatloaf mixture on top of that. Makes it really tasty after it's cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I can rate this recipe in three words: OM NOM NOM. My changes- red lentils, a small white onion, added some garlic powder, and spread some ketchup on the top of the loaf. Even my meat-eating boyfriend liked it (and he loves him some real-meat meatloaf). And MAN, next day "wheatloaf" sandwiches with a slice of cheese and some ketchup were AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Great recipe; very firm and tasty. I thought it tasted like it contained meat too. Made good sandwiches. Will try adding more spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Sooooo Yummmy!Made it on Christmas, my carnivore family liked my meatloaf better than the meatloaf with meat in it!! I added ground round, a few more spices, and more tomatoes and celery aswell. My advice to you would be to make it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I think this could be really, really good, but like some other reviewers said, it is very dry. I will play around with this, it definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
i was very disappointed. unfortunately this was mushy and didn't taste at all like a meatloaf. my changes: * 1/4 cup wheat bran instead of 1/2 cup wheat germ * lemon pepper breadcrumbs, reduced by 1/4 cup * added 3 tbsp flax seed meal * green onion instead of regular onion * 1/4 tsp habanero hot sauce * 1.25 tsp salt * 1 tsp garlic powder * glaze of ketchup, mustard, brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was really, pretty tasty. As a vegetarian I've been missing my mom's meatloaf and this was a nice substitute. My younger brother and sister weren't so fond of it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I had to give this only 3 stars because it came out way too moist and uniformly soft, but that may have been my fault. Since onion is such an important part of the recipe I'd like a clearer definition of "large"--how much diced onion should I end up with? I only used what I would call a medium onion and it was still a LOT of onion. More importantly-- the information at the top of the recipe say the cooking time is 1:45, but the recipe directions only call for cooking for one hour. Which is the correct time? This was a good basis to start from, but next time I might cut the onion larger and try to drain more moisture out of the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Ummm....This was not AS good as I'd hoped for, but it wasn't horrible either. It was just a little bland and could be a little more moist. Not sure if adding more crushed tomatoes would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States