Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first crab salad I remember having was from The Sizzler--probably 15 years ago. I thought it was great. Not fine dining, but it was worth going to the Sizzler to get that crab salad. Since then, I've had crab salad in restaurants many times, especially buffets. Having learned to cook--at least half-way competently and therefore unafraid to try new recipes--I've been carrying the crab salad idea around in my brain for a few weeks. To scratch the itch, I finally gave it a try. WOW! This is great stuff. It has more of a tangy zing than any other crab salad I've tried, including at The Sizzler. I would NOT omit the Italian dressing; That's what gives it the "zing," though you may wish to reduce the amount. I used what I had, 1/3 cup Italian dressing and the rest Italian Pesto dressing. To get it ready for the steak and potatoes meal we had last night, I popped it in the freezer for 30 minutes. That provided the salad with a chill that was just about right. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1 1/2 pounds of crab meat. Too, I wasn't real stingy with the green pepper, red onion, or celery, adding slightly more than that called for in the recipe. Using more of these ingredients than called for prevented any "soupiness." The consistency was absolutely perfect. This will go into my regular rotation of recipes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This recipe was OK for me, although I think others might find it very good. I thought it was too tangy for my taste. It makes A LOT of dressing, so I ended up using 2 lbs. of imitation crabmeat to make use of all the dressing, and even then the salad was still a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This is very good, but seemed to have a lot of dressing for my taste. I did cut the recipe in half, so I might have accidentally used a whole amount for some of the dressing ingredients. I'll just watch this the next time I make the salad. UPDATE 6/12/03: Just made again and used the full recipe. I still do think this is too much dressing for my taste - it is almost soupy and the dressing flavor overpowers the rest of the ingredients. Will try to make two-thirds of the full recipe (of dressing) next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I read the review saying the dressing was too soupy, so I used 2 teaspoons of Italian Dressing SEASONING MIX instead of the 2/3 cup dressing called for and it was perfect! Served it on top of hot dog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverbeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Good, but too much sauce and a bit too tangy. I'm used to the sweeter crabmeat salads. I added a 1/4 tsp. of splenda to take away some of that tang. Next time, I'll just cut back on the Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
After reading all the reviews, and needing to double the recipe for a chuch social, I used 2 lbs. of imitation crab meat, doubled the seasonings and veggies, but kept the dressing as is. I also added about a tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning, (a necessary ingredient in any crab dish served in MD.) This was a hit. All of it was eaten, although I think my husband ate most of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Love!Love!Love! This recipe was, is, and will be a huge hit with friends and family. I've made this salad twice now for pot lucks and i have gone home empty handed. The only thing i added was 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese to the dressing. This one is going in the handwritten recipe book. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
We enjoyed this recipe very much, reduced the lemon juice to 1 tbsp. and used fat free mayo, dressing, and sour cream -- still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I served the crab salad on toasted hoagie rolls- absolutely delicious! I ran out of sour cream, so I obmitted it but it still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This was soooo easy to make! I loved it plain and my husband would make a sandwich for lunch with it. It's the first "fancy" thing I've made that he couldn't get enough of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States