Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was good... I took the advice of some other ratings and cut down on the dressing and sour cream. I seasoned it with onion powder and garlic powder. I think I would do witout the lemon juice next time, since the thought of lemon juice and sour cream together grossed me out a little!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is very similar to something i was already making, essentially my tuna salad recipe with imitation crabmeat substituted. Based on some earlier reviews, I used Italian dressing seasoning (dry) instead of liquid to keep it from getting too soupy and I'm glad I did. I also like the addition of sour cream, it adds a nice little zip. I add a little garlic powder, too. All in all, a good recipe, especially if you've never used imitation crabmeat before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
yes yes yes! I mixed this with bow tie pasta and wow wow wow! It is the most requested recipe hounded by relatives. oh boy oh boy oh boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Good, but too much sauce and a bit too tangy. I'm used to the sweeter crabmeat salads. I added a 1/4 tsp. of splenda to take away some of that tang. Next time, I'll just cut back on the Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Good recipe. I took the others advice of reducing the mayo (I used 3 Tbsp for a half recipe)and sprinkled part of a package of italian dressing mix. It was still wasn't thick, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We needed to finish about 3/4 of a pound of krab before it went bad, so I gave this a try. I used the given amount of celery, about 1/4 cup of finely diced yellow onion, and I substituted about 3/4 of a cup of frozen peas, thawed, for the pepper. I cut the dressing amounts in half. It made it perfect, not at all soupy. My husband likened this salad to a coleslaw without the cabbage (he hates coleslaw, but loved this!). Even I thought it was good, and I don't like seafood! Thanks for the recipe, Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first crab salad I remember having was from The Sizzler--probably 15 years ago. I thought it was great. Not fine dining, but it was worth going to the Sizzler to get that crab salad. Since then, I've had crab salad in restaurants many times, especially buffets. Having learned to cook--at least half-way competently and therefore unafraid to try new recipes--I've been carrying the crab salad idea around in my brain for a few weeks. To scratch the itch, I finally gave it a try. WOW! This is great stuff. It has more of a tangy zing than any other crab salad I've tried, including at The Sizzler. I would NOT omit the Italian dressing; That's what gives it the "zing," though you may wish to reduce the amount. I used what I had, 1/3 cup Italian dressing and the rest Italian Pesto dressing. To get it ready for the steak and potatoes meal we had last night, I popped it in the freezer for 30 minutes. That provided the salad with a chill that was just about right. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1 1/2 pounds of crab meat. Too, I wasn't real stingy with the green pepper, red onion, or celery, adding slightly more than that called for in the recipe. Using more of these ingredients than called for prevented any "soupiness." The consistency was absolutely perfect. This will go into my regular rotation of recipes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
after reading other reviews I decided to cut down on the ingredents. I used 3/4 cup mayo and ommited italian dressing and substitutted the envelope style dressing. I added about half, but add acording to your taste a little at a time. This solve the "soupy issue". Flavor with out the liquid! I also added a bit of Cayenne pepper for some kick. I mixed in 1 1/2 lbs crab meat instead, and there was still plenty of dressing. Seemed to be more sandwich material than just eating in straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEKALGREN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Absolutely great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I'm not sure what happened here...perhaps the salad dressing was too strong...but, we didn't like this at all even after adding some cooked pasta to it to make it more of a pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States