Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Great recipe, however it was a bit watery/liquid. I'd recommend halving the wet ingredients, or doubling the dry (crab, bell pepper, onion & celery). Also, if you can find it, I recommend precooked crab meat over the imitation crab used, tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceybaakko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I serve this as an appetizer (with Triscuits) for friends that came to dinner. They loved it - ate it till it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
this is really good! I reduced the mayo to 1 cup and the Italian dressing to 1/2 cup, as other reviewers said it was a bit soup-y. (NOTE to SELF: dice celery, green pepper, & onion REALLY FINE!) And I added celery seed & Old Bay Seasoning. Tasted like deli-style crab salad. Thanks, DThomrn, for good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I put the Italian dressing and sour cream in and couldn't put any mayo because the salad was swimming already. It was drenched! I strained it and just put a spoonful of mayo in. It was too tangy though. Next time I would just put a splash of dressing and a spoon of sour cream. One pound of meat is nowhere near enough for over 2 cups of dressing!! It was enough for 5lb at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Forget the Italian-style salad dressing. It completely takes away the "crab" taste. All I can taste is Italian dressing. As for the sauce it is too much for the amount of vegetable/crab mixture. This is definitely NOT a copy of Sizzler's Crab Salad. I guess I will have to find new ways of using up the concoction I just made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kent Thalacker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. I followed the first reviewers advice to cut back on the Italian dressing. The result is a perfectly tangy salad. I did not have a problem with it being watery. I do however recommend making this a day ahead so the flavors blend well overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
There was too much sauce but other than that it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REED1
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
like my crab loui better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I liked this recipe, except it was pretty saucy. I would cut all the liquids in half the next time around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
added cyenne pepper for a little kick other than that was very good (we like ours a little juicy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States