Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I found the dressing to be too much and too thin, so I halved the dressing. Keeping full quantity of onion, capsicum and celery, I also halved the imitation crabmeat and made it of 50/50 with cooked prawns adding a sprinkle of capers over the top. As the recipe is written I give it three stars, but with my tweaking I now give it five, so thank you for the basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I like this salad. But since I'm watching my fat intake I used miracle whip instead of mayonaise and only 4 Tbsp., 2 Tbsp. of lite sour cream and 4 Tbsp. of Light Italian Dressing. Came out great. It does look too soupy in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
After reading all the reviews, and needing to double the recipe for a chuch social, I used 2 lbs. of imitation crab meat, doubled the seasonings and veggies, but kept the dressing as is. I also added about a tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning, (a necessary ingredient in any crab dish served in MD.) This was a hit. All of it was eaten, although I think my husband ate most of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
We definitely enjoyed this. I was leary of using the Italian salad dressing. After reading other reviews I only used 1/3 C. Not being the biggest Oregano fan I was leary of that, too. But it all went together so well. I also started off with just 1 C of mayo and left it at that. Even though I altered it a tad I'm still giving it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Because I did not have a full pound of imitation crab, I scaled the recipe down so that I had about 3/4 the amout of the other chunk ingredients. Based on other reviews, I used only 1/3c Italian Seasoning, as well as using small amounts of the dressing ingredients, working my way up until I liked the constistency. Had I followed the recipe to a T, I am sure the dressing would've been much too soupy so I'm glad I made those changes! I brought the chilled dish to a potluck and it was enjoyed by many, excepting one comment that it was "too onion-y", that is just a single opinion though! I would make this again if I come across more imitation crab meat in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I read the review saying the dressing was too soupy, so I used 2 teaspoons of Italian Dressing SEASONING MIX instead of the 2/3 cup dressing called for and it was perfect! Served it on top of hot dog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverbeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the best! Thanks for sharing. The only think I changed was celery. I didn't want to take away from the crab flavor. Going to serve this one for the 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyLibra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very easy to make, and my husband loved it. I sprinkled half a package of italian dressing on it cause I didn't have any regular dressing. It was a big hit. Really good on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minersville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was mostly average for me. Don't get me wrong. I certainly ate my share! But I thought there was too much dressing for the amount of crabmeat called for. I could hardly taste the crabmeat! I thawed some cocktail shrimp and threw that in to help with the dressing-to-seafood ratio. That helped. If I make this again (I think it was good enough to give it another go), I think I'll increase the amount of crabmeat by about 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did an extreme makeover to this recipe. It had nothing to do with this recipe, but the ingredients I had on hand and wanted to use. I am happy to say it received many rave reviews so I thought I would share it with you. First I used a 20 ounce package of three cheese tortellini, one 7 ounce container of Pico De Gallo, no red onion, no green pepper, no diced celery. I used diced cucumber, the imitation crab, I used the sour cream and mayo, cut the Italian-style salad dressing down to 1/3 cup, used only 1 T. lemon juice and did not use the oregano. I did use seasoning salt and pepper. I was suprised at how good the dressing mixture blended with the tortellini and crab. Will definitely make again. I am sure this recipe would be awesome as originally written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States