Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
since I can't eat shell fish, this is such a welcome recipe! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyl Buff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I found the dressing to be too much and too thin, so I halved the dressing. Keeping full quantity of onion, capsicum and celery, I also halved the imitation crabmeat and made it of 50/50 with cooked prawns adding a sprinkle of capers over the top. As the recipe is written I give it three stars, but with my tweaking I now give it five, so thank you for the basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I like this salad. But since I'm watching my fat intake I used miracle whip instead of mayonaise and only 4 Tbsp., 2 Tbsp. of lite sour cream and 4 Tbsp. of Light Italian Dressing. Came out great. It does look too soupy in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
After reading all the reviews, and needing to double the recipe for a chuch social, I used 2 lbs. of imitation crab meat, doubled the seasonings and veggies, but kept the dressing as is. I also added about a tablespoon of Old Bay seasoning, (a necessary ingredient in any crab dish served in MD.) This was a hit. All of it was eaten, although I think my husband ate most of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
We definitely enjoyed this. I was leary of using the Italian salad dressing. After reading other reviews I only used 1/3 C. Not being the biggest Oregano fan I was leary of that, too. But it all went together so well. I also started off with just 1 C of mayo and left it at that. Even though I altered it a tad I'm still giving it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Because I did not have a full pound of imitation crab, I scaled the recipe down so that I had about 3/4 the amout of the other chunk ingredients. Based on other reviews, I used only 1/3c Italian Seasoning, as well as using small amounts of the dressing ingredients, working my way up until I liked the constistency. Had I followed the recipe to a T, I am sure the dressing would've been much too soupy so I'm glad I made those changes! I brought the chilled dish to a potluck and it was enjoyed by many, excepting one comment that it was "too onion-y", that is just a single opinion though! I would make this again if I come across more imitation crab meat in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I read the review saying the dressing was too soupy, so I used 2 teaspoons of Italian Dressing SEASONING MIX instead of the 2/3 cup dressing called for and it was perfect! Served it on top of hot dog buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riverbeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is the best! Thanks for sharing. The only think I changed was celery. I didn't want to take away from the crab flavor. Going to serve this one for the 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyLibra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very easy to make, and my husband loved it. I sprinkled half a package of italian dressing on it cause I didn't have any regular dressing. It was a big hit. Really good on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minersville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was mostly average for me. Don't get me wrong. I certainly ate my share! But I thought there was too much dressing for the amount of crabmeat called for. I could hardly taste the crabmeat! I thawed some cocktail shrimp and threw that in to help with the dressing-to-seafood ratio. That helped. If I make this again (I think it was good enough to give it another go), I think I'll increase the amount of crabmeat by about 50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States