Imitation Crab Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Excellent. Only used four eggs and instead of salt and pepper I seasoned it with Old Bay. Could easily substitute cooked macaroni or small shells for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
We were in the process of moving and I had a lot of items in the freezer and fridge that I wanted to use up. I used up a package of faux crab, 1 can of the real stuff, 4 eggs, 2 stalks celery, 1 lonely bread roll, about a half cup of frozen peas left in a bag, 4 strips crispy minced bacon, 1/2 small minced onion, 1/2 cup mayo, 1/4 cup sour cream, S&P to taste and a few drops hot sauce. I prepared it according to the directions, chilled it for a couple of hours. Scooped it onto a bed of lettuce and a couple dozen halved grape tomatoes. My husband said it was the best meal he ever had, (I take umbrage with this...I am a cook!) I think it had something to do with working hard all day and not being able to watch TV! Thanks Audrie for the inspiration!!!! I have saved it as "Audries Crab Salad"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
I make recipes as they are written. I feel like if you take away two ingredients and add 3 more, it is not the same recipe. I am sure it rates 5 stars but it isn't the recipe I am looking at. That said, this a great recipe for someone that likes egg salad. I do. It made more than I thought but I think it will work for a luncheon for my family and friends. We definitely will be having it for lunch and perhaps dinner. Great way to get rid of the Costco sized imitation crab I have. Oh, and I will try making it without the bread. It tastes good but seems like filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Great recipe - good in wraps, sandwiches and by itself. I skipped the sour dough bread and cut the number eggs in half. Just the right amount of mayo and sour cream for the amount of crab, etc. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I didn't use the egg or bread, but kept everything else the same and added the mayo mixture until the crab was coated enough. There is plenty for 2 lbs of crab. Seasoned with old bay seasoning. We eat it on mini rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadeWithLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This is a great base recipe that i have recommended to friends. for me, i keep the bread out (gluten issue) use green onions, shredded napa cabbage, green peppers, a few olives or chopped avocado if I am feeling 'racey'. Fat Free mayo and low fat sour cream OR Greek Youghurt. Other times we add gluten free pasta (instead of bread) , make a lemony coleslaw type dressing, add artichoke... the variations are endless. When I have to make a large quantity for a party or pot luck... i make the dressing and put the various ingredients into different containers and add dressing. mix each and stuff into the fridge till the next day. EASY PEASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Very easy... I didn't use eggs... I added some chopped yellow and orange peppers for color and 1/2 teaspoon taco seasoning and used greek yogurt instead of sour cream... This will be a 'make often' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Not impressed at all. TOO MUCH EGG! If you want an impressive egg salad, then this is it - just egg salad with a bit of crab mixed in. No one in my family cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good recipe, will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Didn't have the bread but will make again. I feel this recipe is very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crab Salad

This quick, creamy salad is tops spread on sandwiches or over crackers.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Caesar Salad Supreme

See how to make a classic salad with garlic croutons and a creamy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States