Ima's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This potato salad is delicious....it is such a different way to serve potato salad and the flavors work well together...for a different take I sometimes add chopped cooked chicken...excellent..thank you for the submission
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I thought this potato salad was good. I liked the extra color the carrots and peas gave to it. I used Kraft mayo with olive oil and dijon mustard, as it was what I had. The only downside is the pickle taste was very strong and so was the vinegar bite from the mustard. I have never heard of Israeli pickles, so I used the type I had. I wish the recipe would have been more specific of the type. I believe it could have been Kosher. I think the spicy mustard may have been even stronger. I don't know. I am certain it will all get eaten though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Love this! It's great alternative to regular ol' potato salad. And being I've never been a fan of celery, like that this still has the crunch from the pickles. Yummy stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I like all kinds of potato salad and this is one I will be adding to my recipe box. I was not sure about the pickles, so I brined chopped cucumber for a week. It was very good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is very similar to the Ukrainian "Mayonnaise" version of the salad, which my sister and I refer to as the "Cube" salad because everything has to be cubed such that all the salad pieces are roughly the size of the peas. I didn't have pickles on hand so I didn't add those in, but typically I'll use Dill (Polish) pickles since those are my favorite. Another addition that works great if you have it is cooked ham, cubed, and scallions. I used a can of peas, drained. I also used fresh carrots, boiled them, and then cubed them (as much as one can cube carrots, really). Since I'm trying to avoid starches, I cut down significantly on the potatoes, doing only about three large potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I love this potato salad! The first time I made it was right after we got back from Israel. I was so inspired by my sister-in-law's amazing Shabbat meal for 16 (!!!) that I had to do an Israeli Shabbat at our house. Best potato salad ever and I love the pickles, but NO ONIONS!! Yay! Thank you for giving me the ability to bring a little Israel into Texas for my Israeli husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I used celery and onion instead of peas and carrots, but otherwise made the recipe is written. This is the best potato salad recipe I've found so far. Simple but flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
First, I'd like to say love the color that the peas and carrots add to this salad. I didn't use near all the mustard as I knew it would be too overpowering for my family. I'm sure next time I will add a bit of onion, but this recipe can be changed so easily to fit your needs and is very attractive looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Hi All - This is the original recipe poster, here. Just a note about the Israeli pickles - these are NOT Kosher pickles. They are usually imported from Israel, or they are noted as Israeli-style. These pickles can be found in the international or Kosher sections of many supermarkets. You may also be able to find them in the refrigerated section, where hummus is sold (Sabra brand). These pickles don't have much of a vinegary bite to them, hence the amount of mustard called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Just realized I never reviewed this, just took a blurry photo a while back. :) I really liked it! We didn't have frozen peas and carrots, just peas; I diced carrots and blanched them in the potato cooking water for about two minutes, then chilled them. I found a can of Israeli pickles in the "ethnic" section of my market. I definitely want to make this again! I love the mustard flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States