Ignacio's Super Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I LOVE anything with peanut butter and could eat it by the spoonfuls (now if they could only come up with a great tasting fat free version). That being said I finally got around to trying this and I love it when someone takes a classic and puts a new twist on it. I love the crunchy texture you get from the addition of the toasted bread in the middle - great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Oh, my god, SOOOO amazingly good! You have no idea what a difference the toasted slice of bread makes to the texture. I can only liken the crunchy/soft sensation to when you bite into a 100 Grand bar-- it's chewy with a crunch to it, and it makes the sandwich so much more satisfying to bite into! Use more jelly than you usually do on this, the peanut butter and toast combo makes it drier than a regular sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
TERRIFIC!!! Made this for lunch today w/ thin white bread & everyone LOVED it! More substantial than a regular PBJ. The crunch adds something. It's so good, it's hard to put your finger on just what makes this sandwich so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2000
I NEVER THOUGHT OF THIS!!! MY 14 MONTH OLD LOVES IT!! KRISTY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
If you are a peanut butter & jelly sandwich lover, you will love this! We have been making our sandwiches like this for quite some time now. Sometimes we toast the middle slice, and sometimes we do not, it's great either way. I have a tendency to make my pb&j sandwiches a little too "loaded", and the extra slice of bread helps break it up, but still alows me to use a lot peanut butter and preserves...LOL. I'm glad to see this recipe posted here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I actually didn't think this tasted TOO different from a regular PB&J. That said, this sandwich recipe is really good. A little time consuming, but I found it fun to make. The toasted slice does add nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
A fun sandwich and, of course, very kid friendly! It has lots of possibilities too...you could use two different types of jelly or do a layer with more PB and then a layer of bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Oh my... That was quite delish! :) Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
A neat twist on an old classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Oh m'gosh, I can't believe I'm rating a PB&J sandwich. Came across this by mistake and was hungry for it at the time. Thought to myself, "how different could this be"? Well, it really messes with your senses which makes it oh, so fun! The plain bread and toast combo just have your mouth asking for more. Used chunky Jif and Cherry preserves - yummy. I've told many people at work about this recipe and they just look at me like I'm nuts. You must try it. The grandkids think it's awesome as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States