Ida's Lemon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made this with the sugar-free gelatin and the low fat whipped topping, and it turned out great. I would advise that the whipped topping is completely thawed and that you stir it in with a wisk. Also, I chilled it and served it in martini glasses and it came out in beautiful layers with no extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
....amazing! my inlaws came over and this was my first time cooking for them and this dessert was such a hit, that my mother-in-law asked me for the recipe! a suggestion that i did: i scooped lemons out and served the mousse inside the lemons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Wonderful tart flavor. I made it for a group of 50 people, used lime instead of lemon. Piped into pastry shells and decorated with white chocolate flowers, whipped topping and raspberry sauce. I made it for a womens retreat, and they all just raved over its flavor and look. Definitely will make again, varying the flavors for some more fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ely, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is certainly easy and affordable to make, but I would never serve this to company. The finished product taste like creamy lemon jello, nothing like a mousse. I also didn't like the artificial taste of the lemonade coating my throat after 4-5 bites. I made this with the kids since it was a fun, easy dessert on a hot day. Overall, the texture is too jello-like, but I wasn't expecting much due to the simple ingredients. I was going to serve this to guests but decided against it. Fun for kids but nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This is excellent! I didn't have the lemon jello or the lemonade, so I used lime jello and limeade instead. It was a big hit with my family! My hubby said it tasted like Key Lime. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I dissolved the jello in only 2 cups boiling water, then mixed it with the frozen lemonade concentrate and chilled until it began to set (40 minutes or so?). Then I beat in the cool whip (in small amounts at first so it didn't get lumpy) and put it in a 9 x 13 pan in the freezer for about 10 minutes. While it was in the freezer,I pureed 3 cups fresh strawberries, then poured this in lines over the lemon mixture and swirled with a knife. Returned it to the freezer until firm. It was so yummy..tastes like strawberry lemonade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We really enjoyed this, and the fact that it can be frozen is a definite plus. The texture is very much like a mousse, it's light, and the lemon flavor is bold with just enough sweet-tart flavor. I used sugar free jell-o and fat-free whipped topping with no sacrifice to taste. It took close to 1-1/2 hours for the lemonade mixture to thicken to the point where I could beat in the whipped topping, and several hours longer in the fridge to jell, so plan accordingly. For those of you on Weight Watchers, I calculated the points based on 12 servings, and the point value is 2. Very nice end to a spring meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Sorry, we all thought this tasted like lemon flavored cool whip. I could never eat more than a bite or two of this. Maybe I should try it with a different flavor. We like lemons though, and lemonade, but we all thought this was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this very easy recipe for 300 women for spa night at church. Served in plastic champagne glass with 1/4 lemon slice as garnish. Went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This is very good. Not quite the consistancy of mousse but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States