Ida's Lemon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
I made this with the sugar-free gelatin and the low fat whipped topping, and it turned out great. I would advise that the whipped topping is completely thawed and that you stir it in with a wisk. Also, I chilled it and served it in martini glasses and it came out in beautiful layers with no extra effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
....amazing! my inlaws came over and this was my first time cooking for them and this dessert was such a hit, that my mother-in-law asked me for the recipe! a suggestion that i did: i scooped lemons out and served the mousse inside the lemons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Wonderful tart flavor. I made it for a group of 50 people, used lime instead of lemon. Piped into pastry shells and decorated with white chocolate flowers, whipped topping and raspberry sauce. I made it for a womens retreat, and they all just raved over its flavor and look. Definitely will make again, varying the flavors for some more fun!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ely, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This is certainly easy and affordable to make, but I would never serve this to company. The finished product taste like creamy lemon jello, nothing like a mousse. I also didn't like the artificial taste of the lemonade coating my throat after 4-5 bites. I made this with the kids since it was a fun, easy dessert on a hot day. Overall, the texture is too jello-like, but I wasn't expecting much due to the simple ingredients. I was going to serve this to guests but decided against it. Fun for kids but nothing more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This is excellent! I didn't have the lemon jello or the lemonade, so I used lime jello and limeade instead. It was a big hit with my family! My hubby said it tasted like Key Lime. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I dissolved the jello in only 2 cups boiling water, then mixed it with the frozen lemonade concentrate and chilled until it began to set (40 minutes or so?). Then I beat in the cool whip (in small amounts at first so it didn't get lumpy) and put it in a 9 x 13 pan in the freezer for about 10 minutes. While it was in the freezer,I pureed 3 cups fresh strawberries, then poured this in lines over the lemon mixture and swirled with a knife. Returned it to the freezer until firm. It was so yummy..tastes like strawberry lemonade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We really enjoyed this, and the fact that it can be frozen is a definite plus. The texture is very much like a mousse, it's light, and the lemon flavor is bold with just enough sweet-tart flavor. I used sugar free jell-o and fat-free whipped topping with no sacrifice to taste. It took close to 1-1/2 hours for the lemonade mixture to thicken to the point where I could beat in the whipped topping, and several hours longer in the fridge to jell, so plan accordingly. For those of you on Weight Watchers, I calculated the points based on 12 servings, and the point value is 2. Very nice end to a spring meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
Sorry, we all thought this tasted like lemon flavored cool whip. I could never eat more than a bite or two of this. Maybe I should try it with a different flavor. We like lemons though, and lemonade, but we all thought this was not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I made this very easy recipe for 300 women for spa night at church. Served in plastic champagne glass with 1/4 lemon slice as garnish. Went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
This is very good. Not quite the consistancy of mousse but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States