Idaho-Style Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were excellent! I followed the recipe except I didn't freeze the meat strips prior to frying them. They came out so good I can't imagine the freezing step making them any better. My husband and my brother ate them as fast as I could fry them. I'm lucky I got any at all. Wonderful recipe, EmmyJay1! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Loved the McCormick Montreal Steak Seasoning in the buttermilk batter. I've always just used salt, pepper, and a little bit of garlic powder but the seasoning mix adds more flavor. I added a tsp of baking powder to the flour mixture; it makes the brown crust a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I've been craving these ever since I moved out of Idaho. This recipe comes really, really close to the ones I remember getting there, and I will definitely make it again. Freezing them helps keep the batter on - not a totally necessary step, but it does help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
After partying everyone went to Milo's for something to eat, a perfect ending to a Friday or Saturday night! Just today I sent an email to my Brother about this GREAT restaurant and its fantastic product. Devine intervention helped me find this long lost treat tonight and I plan to share it with my wife tomorrow. NOTHING compares to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very yummy. The freezing is important in my opinion. These were gobbled up between another friend and I with the munchies (made less than 1/2 a batch, only had a small steak). I also make onion rings with the same coating. Served with fry sauce (duh). MMMMMmmmmmmmMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have to say OMG! I followed the recipe to the letter even freezing them before cooking. It helped keep the coating on when frying. It is just my husband and I So I Fried half the batch and kept the other half frozen to cook another night... Ok I admit it was the next night!Yes they are that good!Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYBOOPYCDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These were excellent! My family raved about these. I didn't freeze prior to frying, we wanted to eat right away. Other than that I followed the reciepe exactly and was impressed. The seasoning was wonderful especially the Montreal steak seasoning. Thanks emmyjay for such a great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
omg!!!! these fingers were sooooo great. i made them last night. my husband said " i dont like steak finger" he must have at more then half the batch.!!!! i soaked my meat in the buttermilk mixture for about 5 hrs. i mixed it up around noon and let is soak up the goodness! i drained the steak in a strainer breaded and let rest in the fridge till we were ready to eat they came out perfect. no freezing and the breading was nice, flaky, and super tasty. great overall flavor!!! i served it with homemade ranch and it was a big hit! thanks for sharing these remind me of the steak fingers i had as a kid. my dad made them and we called them "crisy delicouses" !!!!!! thanks for the keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
omg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Sciano-Hine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Having lived in Idaho all my life this is a wonderful comfort food! The perfect way to spice up a piece of meat! We love ours with fry sauce or try it with a spicy cocktail sauce! YUMMM!!! Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bristol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States