Idaho-Style Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Having lived in Idaho all my life this is a wonderful comfort food! The perfect way to spice up a piece of meat! We love ours with fry sauce or try it with a spicy cocktail sauce! YUMMM!!! Thanks for posting! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bristol

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
omg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hales Corners, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
omg!!!! these fingers were sooooo great. i made them last night. my husband said " i dont like steak finger" he must have at more then half the batch.!!!! i soaked my meat in the buttermilk mixture for about 5 hrs. i mixed it up around noon and let is soak up the goodness! i drained the steak in a strainer breaded and let rest in the fridge till we were ready to eat they came out perfect. no freezing and the breading was nice, flaky, and super tasty. great overall flavor!!! i served it with homemade ranch and it was a big hit! thanks for sharing these remind me of the steak fingers i had as a kid. my dad made them and we called them "crisy delicouses" !!!!!! thanks for the keeper of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millertime

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
These are quite tasty. I made them with pre-cut steak strips for stir fry just because it was easier. I didn't freeze them (because I didn't realize that was a step in the process), but I had no problem with the batter staying on. They were crispy and the steak was tender. I will defintely make them again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe- ingredients and directions and it came out very good. I think the freezing really works. The batter stayed on nicely and crisped up very well. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These were very good. The best flour to use, though, is self-rising flour instead of all-purpose flour. It browns nicely and stays on the meat better. I didn't have to freeze the battered steak as the recipe suggests. I had to salt and pepper the fingers after they came out of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FKM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very yummy. The freezing is important in my opinion. These were gobbled up between another friend and I with the munchies (made less than 1/2 a batch, only had a small steak). I also make onion rings with the same coating. Served with fry sauce (duh). MMMMMmmmmmmmMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were ok but I will probably not make again. They were a little to greasy and jsut to much work for the outcome. The kids weren't to thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have the original recipe, too. I think I will try the freezing step next time I make them, though. It certainly makes sense. I just wanted to say that no self-respecting Idahoan would eat finger steaks with anything other than fry sauce, which also appears to be a Southern Idaho tradition. After living all over this darn country, I've never gotten it anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have to say OMG! I followed the recipe to the letter even freezing them before cooking. It helped keep the coating on when frying. It is just my husband and I So I Fried half the batch and kept the other half frozen to cook another night... Ok I admit it was the next night!Yes they are that good!Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYBOOPYCDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States