Idaho-Style Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These were excellent! My family raved about these. I didn't freeze prior to frying, we wanted to eat right away. Other than that I followed the reciepe exactly and was impressed. The seasoning was wonderful especially the Montreal steak seasoning. Thanks emmyjay for such a great recipe. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
It was really good I didn't freeze it before cooking, but did let it marinade for 2 hours before cooking it was very flavorful and my kids really liked it. It is to fatty to be a weekly meal, but it was the best kind of treat. I also could see severing this as an appetizer and the next back yard bbq. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
A pretty close job but I have Milo's original recipe from the old Torch Cafe in Boise. Don't forget to use the same batter to make some onion rings or the meal is just not complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These were excellent! I followed the recipe except I didn't freeze the meat strips prior to frying them. They came out so good I can't imagine the freezing step making them any better. My husband and my brother ate them as fast as I could fry them. I'm lucky I got any at all. Wonderful recipe, EmmyJay1! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I've been craving these ever since I moved out of Idaho. This recipe comes really, really close to the ones I remember getting there, and I will definitely make it again. Freezing them helps keep the batter on - not a totally necessary step, but it does help a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
After partying everyone went to Milo's for something to eat, a perfect ending to a Friday or Saturday night! Just today I sent an email to my Brother about this GREAT restaurant and its fantastic product. Devine intervention helped me find this long lost treat tonight and I plan to share it with my wife tomorrow. NOTHING compares to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Loved the McCormick Montreal Steak Seasoning in the buttermilk batter. I've always just used salt, pepper, and a little bit of garlic powder but the seasoning mix adds more flavor. I added a tsp of baking powder to the flour mixture; it makes the brown crust a bit lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I have to say OMG! I followed the recipe to the letter even freezing them before cooking. It helped keep the coating on when frying. It is just my husband and I So I Fried half the batch and kept the other half frozen to cook another night... Ok I admit it was the next night!Yes they are that good!Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETTYBOOPYCDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I have the original recipe, too. I think I will try the freezing step next time I make them, though. It certainly makes sense. I just wanted to say that no self-respecting Idahoan would eat finger steaks with anything other than fry sauce, which also appears to be a Southern Idaho tradition. After living all over this darn country, I've never gotten it anywhere else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were ok but I will probably not make again. They were a little to greasy and jsut to much work for the outcome. The kids weren't to thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States