Idaho Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the all time favorite cake at our house, great with or without frosting to enjoy s a snack cake or a decadent 2 layer iced cake. Super great chocolate cake and a great conversation starter when sharing with friends and family! People never can believe that mashed potatoes are part of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I though the cake was so yummy. If I made 100 of those I will eat all of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipe because I thought it was one I had used from the site before. Turns out I had the wrong recipe because these were insanely sweet and sticky. Go with the other chocolate-potato cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This was wonderful! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Great, followed the recipe to a tee. Just like what my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
wow, I never would have thought to put potatoes in a cake but it's really good! I followed the recipe exactly minus the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was really good. My kids loved it. I used buttermilk (that's what I had) and added just a bit more chocolate. Be smarter than me and make sure your mashed potatoes aren't lumpy! The lumps of potato weren't offensive to us and we ate it anyway, but they may turn off others, especially if you're trying to hide what it's made from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Before I decided to make real of this recipe, I went through most of the reviews raving about this. As good as expected, the texture of this cake turns out incredibly well-moistured and soft. However, the reason why I had taken a star away is that it is TOO SWEET. Instead of 2 cup sugar, please only make it 1 or 1.5 cup, especially for those who don't like overly sweet food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I found a chocolate frosting made with potatos to go with this cake. So I put it in this site labeled Potato Fudge Frosting. I hope it works for everyone as I am in the process of making it as I post this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe. I am in advanced Culinary a my high school, and had to make something creative with potatoes. I used sweet potatoes and OMG, I loved it. My class did too. I had people in my class wanting more and more. And I used the cream cheese frosting II with it, with a few alterations. You can check my review for the alterations. Great recipe. I think I will make this cake again. And I like how the cake isnt too rich in chocolate. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States