Idaho Fry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Way too sweet. I ended up adding more WHITE vinegar and a little bbq sauce to balance it out, which helped. Next time I would omit the sugar or add it in slowly, to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I live in Boise and have had a lot of different fry sauces. This one is REALLY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Hays

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Pretty close to original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Moffit Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Giving it a 4 since it is much better than ketchup and mayo but I needed more spice myself. Made as directed but cut the sugar in half (enough in the ketchup). After using it a bit I then added more onion powder, paprika, salt and dry mustard but really looking for more of a kick. I did enjoy it though but next time, I think I'll try doubling the seasonings or add some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very good. Almost everyone in the family liked this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
What a delicious recipe! My husband and I had never heard of fry sauce until Allrecipes. We discovered we both like it. I halved the recipe to use on 'Tail Burner Firehouse French Fries' from AR. This might have been my first time trying the recipe, but it won't be the last. Thanks Heather, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very easy to make and much better than just ketchup. It has zing. I added pickle relish to bring in some texture and flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a quick dipping sauce to make and tastes good. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Next time though, I will omit the sugar as the first batch was way too sweet. Ketchup has a lot of sugar already in it, so I don't see any reason to add more. Other than that, thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love this sauce! I do cut back or leave out altogether the sugar as I like a more vinegar tartness to my sauce but I have yet to have home baked "fries" without having this sauce too. I think it's just great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm not sure where you got this recipe, but fry sauce is a simple job. It was popularized initially at the arctic circle restaurant chain in southern Idaho. 1cup ketchup, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1 tablespoon apple vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Blend. That's it. You can certainly add all the other stuff, amd it's probably tasty. But it ain't fry sauce. I know because it was my job to make it. Long, long ago in southeast Idaho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States