Idaho Fry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very easy to make and much better than just ketchup. It has zing. I added pickle relish to bring in some texture and flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a quick dipping sauce to make and tastes good. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Next time though, I will omit the sugar as the first batch was way too sweet. Ketchup has a lot of sugar already in it, so I don't see any reason to add more. Other than that, thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love this sauce! I do cut back or leave out altogether the sugar as I like a more vinegar tartness to my sauce but I have yet to have home baked "fries" without having this sauce too. I think it's just great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm not sure where you got this recipe, but fry sauce is a simple job. It was popularized initially at the arctic circle restaurant chain in southern Idaho. 1cup ketchup, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1 tablespoon apple vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Blend. That's it. You can certainly add all the other stuff, amd it's probably tasty. But it ain't fry sauce. I know because it was my job to make it. Long, long ago in southeast Idaho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
My husband and my father-in-law are native Idahoans and were always on the hunt for the perfect fry sauce. I took a chance today and made this one for our oven fries - and I'm so glad I did! Great sauce. Sweet, tangy, and without the overly-mustard-y flavor that some fry sauces have when trying to depart from the Thousand Island-type fry sauce. This sauce is a winner and we'll be making it a lot from here on out. Thanks for sharing, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Yummmm. Really good. Creamy and rich with flavor. The submitter is right, after this I tried fries with ketchup and I much preferred this sauce to the plain now boring ketchup. From Idaho and now to Texas, I liked this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
A Utah native, I KNOW my fry sauce, and this recipe is awesome!! My husband and I just polished off what was supposed to be a half sheet of leftover potato wedges thanks to this stuff. Truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Another former Utahn here. While I thought this was pretty good, I will tweak a few things next time. I think it's too sweet. I would only use half the sugar. I like the mild heat from the mustard powder, but rather than adding more I would add just a touch of prepared horseradish. Even without the tweaks, this is the best fry sauce I've found in my quest to copy the old Arctic Circle sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
My family really enjoyed this dipping sauce. We like a little spice so we added a few drops of hot sauce. We will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was so yummy my family actually ate it with their frys as I did and they are a only ketup people. Great sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reesa's Fab Kitchen online

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States