Idaho Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband grew up in Boise and every time we visit we had to go to the Torch Cafe for finger steaks. He says these are the ones! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
i use cube steaks, and i also add 1 tbs of garlic powder. that really kicks them up a few notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These are the best.......I use 1/2 cornmeal and 1/2 flour and they turn out perfect....I have also used pork instead of beef....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My husband and I just didn't care for the taste. Also, we never heavily salt our food or eat very many processed type foods that tend to have a lot of added salt/sodium and so the salt content here was just too much. At first I thought that was why we didn't like the recipe so after I cooked the first few fingersteaks, I remade the batter using much less salt but then found the herbs to be too prominent. Just not our cup of tea. I did think the batter was a very good texture though. It clung well to the meat and crisped up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliann11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this last night with the Blooming Onion and Daddy's fried corn and onions, and everyone liked it. I even used some of the onion dip to dip these fingers in. Very good, thanks for the recipe! BTW, I didn't change a thing, only lessened the ingredients becuase I only had a 2-3 lb. top round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oh my ridiculously good! We didn't season our meat or anything before and these were some of the best that we've EVER had. My husband grew up in Idaho and his family has made finger steaks all growing up and he couldn't stop eating these. One trick: tenderize the steak before battering them-- it makes them soak up the seasonings a little better from the batter and it makes them, well, tender. Also, you could probably cut back to about 1/2 of the salt or seasoning salt-- one or the other. I also followed some other's advice and made the sauce for the blooming onion... WOW! We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
So... we REALLY liked these. BUT.. next time I will be adding garlic salt or garlic powder to them. The batter definitely needs to be refrigerated. It makes a leathery like shell on the finger steaks. We live in the Boise area so we just might need to head over there and try these out. I made the Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce to go along with it. The finger steaks in that dipping sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I lived in Boise in the early '70s and ate at the torch many times. There was a drive-through restaurant that also had decent finger steaks. But I can not remember the name. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I've been looking for Milo's Finger Steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
As daughter of Mylo,owner of the Torch Cafe 1959-1982 It upsets my family when we see people giving out a recipe and saying it is my father's Original Finger Steak recipe. I would like to let all my fellow Allrecipe forums members know that it is not his Original recipe. My family are the only possessors of my dad's recipe and yes, he was the creator of the original. My Dad created them for his own restaurant in Winslow Arizona before WWII.After serving in the army in WWII he returned to Idaho. Mylo's Original Finger Steaks appeared on the front of the Menu's in "59" when Dad was owner of the Torch & until Torch was sold 82 then again in Yuma until 1984 at his 3rd Restaurant before his death.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States