Idaho Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JONESCLAN
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
So... we REALLY liked these. BUT.. next time I will be adding garlic salt or garlic powder to them. The batter definitely needs to be refrigerated. It makes a leathery like shell on the finger steaks. We live in the Boise area so we just might need to head over there and try these out. I made the Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce to go along with it. The finger steaks in that dipping sauce is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These are the best.......I use 1/2 cornmeal and 1/2 flour and they turn out perfect....I have also used pork instead of beef....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! The Torch Cafe was one of my favorite places when I lived in Boise in the 70's. This recipe brings back memories. If you are in Boise, by the way, a good place for finger steaks at a restaurant is the truck stop that is on I-84, about 15 miles east of Boise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
My husband really liked these. I thought they were a little tough. The flavor was delicious and the batter stayed on very well. I haven't made them in a while, so I guess I will make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erath, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Easy to make and tastes exactly how I remember them! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I lived in Boise in the early '70s and ate at the torch many times. There was a drive-through restaurant that also had decent finger steaks. But I can not remember the name. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I've been looking for Milo's Finger Steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband grew up in Boise and every time we visit we had to go to the Torch Cafe for finger steaks. He says these are the ones! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States