Idaho Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
As daughter of Mylo,owner of the Torch Cafe 1959-1982 It upsets my family when we see people giving out a recipe and saying it is my father's Original Finger Steak recipe. I would like to let all my fellow Allrecipe forums members know that it is not his Original recipe. My family are the only possessors of my dad's recipe and yes, he was the creator of the original. My Dad created them for his own restaurant in Winslow Arizona before WWII.After serving in the army in WWII he returned to Idaho. Mylo's Original Finger Steaks appeared on the front of the Menu's in "59" when Dad was owner of the Torch & until Torch was sold 82 then again in Yuma until 1984 at his 3rd Restaurant before his death.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Pleasantly surprised to learn that the finger steak originated in Boise; I grew up in the Twin Falls area, and my family now lives in Boise. I do remember eating fast food finger steaks as a teenager! Tried this recipe tonight and it was ABSOLUTELY DELISH! I will make this many times in the near future. A couple of issues I had was that the batter was VERY thick, so I may use less flour (2 cups rather than 2 1/2) next time and play it by ear from there. I also left out the salt, as recommended by other reviews, but I will probably cut back on the seasoning salt as well in the future. Also realized I didn't have marjoram, so I substituted Herbs de Provence (thyme, marjoram, rosemary and savory) and this worked just fine. BOTTOM LINE: This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Gibson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These were not good at all. The batter turned all gooey and solft and had way to much worstershire sauce flavor. I was able to fix them by adding baking powder and more milk to thin it out and they were really good. The baking powder made them crispy and they were delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oh my ridiculously good! We didn't season our meat or anything before and these were some of the best that we've EVER had. My husband grew up in Idaho and his family has made finger steaks all growing up and he couldn't stop eating these. One trick: tenderize the steak before battering them-- it makes them soak up the seasonings a little better from the batter and it makes them, well, tender. Also, you could probably cut back to about 1/2 of the salt or seasoning salt-- one or the other. I also followed some other's advice and made the sauce for the blooming onion... WOW! We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made these twice so far, i left out the seasoned salt as i didn't have any....it turned out perfect but the second time i salted the meat not the batter..the meat itself was more flavorful and the batter was just perfect, i also added a dash of hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
My husband and I just didn't care for the taste. Also, we never heavily salt our food or eat very many processed type foods that tend to have a lot of added salt/sodium and so the salt content here was just too much. At first I thought that was why we didn't like the recipe so after I cooked the first few fingersteaks, I remade the batter using much less salt but then found the herbs to be too prominent. Just not our cup of tea. I did think the batter was a very good texture though. It clung well to the meat and crisped up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelliann11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
i use cube steaks, and i also add 1 tbs of garlic powder. that really kicks them up a few notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
my boyfriend loves them. i will be skipping the salt (as suggested) next time though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this last night with the Blooming Onion and Daddy's fried corn and onions, and everyone liked it. I even used some of the onion dip to dip these fingers in. Very good, thanks for the recipe! BTW, I didn't change a thing, only lessened the ingredients becuase I only had a 2-3 lb. top round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Out of 5 people (all ages), nobody like it. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States