Icy Blender Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm a fan of lemonade and I love slushy drinks, so this drink worked out well for me. I used 2 small/med lemons, and not quite 1/2 cup of sugar. I wanted it more slushy so I put approx 3 cups slightly blended ice, and about 1.5 cups of water. The tart/sweetness balance was good (although this of course can vary between lemons), although next time I might try a little less ice or water. Here are some suggestions: 1) As per other reviews, rather than dumping a whole lemon in there, you need to separate out the lemon flesh/sections from the peel and membrane. Too much peel or membrane in the blender and you'll be chewing through your drink. 2) In my opinion, lemon zest is a great addition. It adds a slight tartness, but more importantly, more flavor and texture. I don't think you need to zest the whole lemon finely... I ended up using a knife to cut small strips from the skin and stuck it into the blender, where the bigger strips ended up being cut into smaller, rice-size pieces) I enjoyed the small chunks of zest in the drink, although those who like their drinks homogeneous will probably want to go with the fine zest. 3) Like normal lemonade, you'll want to taste it before serving to make sure the tart/sweetness level is OK. It's relatively easy to make quick corrections by adding more sugar or more lemon juice from a plastic bottle if you have one available. Next time, I might try replacing some of the ice with lime sherbet/sorbet to see if I can't ge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
The whole lemons make this almost un-drinkable. If you must make these, use only lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joefarmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was great! It isn't slushy like I anticipated, but is very good and made a wonderful (and easy) lemonade. To make more of a slush use 1 cup of water and fill the blender with ice. This is a recipe I will be using a lot this summer. Thank you so much for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I agree it needed a little tweaking but it is a good recipe to start from. I like my lemonade pulpy, but I doubled the ice. (make sure your blender will chop ice) I am currently working on a half & half (tea & lemonade) recipe. If anyone has perfected one please post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atomicdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was our favorite drink this summer. However, the first time I made it, I found it very pulpy. So the next time I made it, I juiced the lemons with my juicer. I also increased the sugar slightly as we like our lemonade sweet. Very refreshing, I love this drink! It really reminds one of the old-fashioned lemonade you get at the fair for $3-4 a plastic glass. Do yourself a favor---make this at home and sit on your padio and sip it slowly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
added 2 lemons instead of one, needs more ice to be slushy though; but very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made a few changes to this. I zested the peel of the lemon first. Then I took the rest of the peel off. I used the lemon and the zest in the blender. It helped with the lemon taste people were saying it didn't have enough of. I didn't have white sugar, instead I used Turbinado (natural grain) sugar and only 1/4c. It didn't taste quite right but I found you can make this superb just by adding some frozen strawberries. It doesn't make it thick if you blend it a little at a time (if you put in a huge chunks it turns into a smoothie, which is also good!). It tastes just like the "strawberry lemonade" you'd get at a restaraunt. MMmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Very good! Every one enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This is a lovely light drink. I used only the lemon pulp with no membranes. Next time I will add more lemon for added "punch". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This is fantastic!! I took some others advice and added extra lemon juice and cut down on the suger a little bit. Looks great and tastes even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States