Icy Blender Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I'm a fan of lemonade and I love slushy drinks, so this drink worked out well for me. I used 2 small/med lemons, and not quite 1/2 cup of sugar. I wanted it more slushy so I put approx 3 cups slightly blended ice, and about 1.5 cups of water. The tart/sweetness balance was good (although this of course can vary between lemons), although next time I might try a little less ice or water. Here are some suggestions: 1) As per other reviews, rather than dumping a whole lemon in there, you need to separate out the lemon flesh/sections from the peel and membrane. Too much peel or membrane in the blender and you'll be chewing through your drink. 2) In my opinion, lemon zest is a great addition. It adds a slight tartness, but more importantly, more flavor and texture. I don't think you need to zest the whole lemon finely... I ended up using a knife to cut small strips from the skin and stuck it into the blender, where the bigger strips ended up being cut into smaller, rice-size pieces) I enjoyed the small chunks of zest in the drink, although those who like their drinks homogeneous will probably want to go with the fine zest. 3) Like normal lemonade, you'll want to taste it before serving to make sure the tart/sweetness level is OK. It's relatively easy to make quick corrections by adding more sugar or more lemon juice from a plastic bottle if you have one available. Next time, I might try replacing some of the ice with lime sherbet/sorbet to see if I can't ge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was our favorite drink this summer. However, the first time I made it, I found it very pulpy. So the next time I made it, I juiced the lemons with my juicer. I also increased the sugar slightly as we like our lemonade sweet. Very refreshing, I love this drink! It really reminds one of the old-fashioned lemonade you get at the fair for $3-4 a plastic glass. Do yourself a favor---make this at home and sit on your padio and sip it slowly. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
This is a really good idea, but the recipe needed a lot of tweaking. The first time there was so much pulp I chewed up a big wad of it at the end. Also, it was too watery and sweet. The second time I made it, I took the lemon sections out of their membrane, which left in the good pulp but eliminated the chewy stuff. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup and added an extra 1/4 cup of lemon juice. This made it nice and sour, just the way I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is an icy cold, mildly flavored lemonade. At first I thought it was too watery, and neither sweet nor tart enough. But it grew on me almost instantly. It’s *because* of its mild flavor that it’s particularly refreshing and thirst-quenching, especially important and nice on these hot days when our body needs fluids the most. Rather than peeling the lemon a grapefruit spoon (or serrated knife) made quick work of releasing the juice and pulp (and a few pesky seeds). So that we can drink plenty of this without having to worry about all the extra sugar I replaced it with Splenda. I’m always guilty of not drinking enough water and since I always have a big bowl of lemons on the counter this could quickly make me drink more than I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
love it!! but i did make some additions, i think this recipe called for too much water and not enough ice. and I added four large strawberries and another 1/2 cup sugar-so delicious. Will use this for 4th of July BBQ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurricane, Utah, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
added 2 lemons instead of one, needs more ice to be slushy though; but very good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I have had this made for me personally. I LOVE it. The pulp is the best part !! I give it 5 STARS. Thanks Beverly Ann. Got any more receipes out there for me to take a look at ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I wasn't sure how this was going to turn out, but it came out perfectly for our morning breakfast. We didn't have any ice, but it still tasted great. Without ice, it was a little sweeter, so adjust accordingly. I used an oil/water strainer to reduce the amount of pulp, which helped a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
This is a lovely light drink. I used only the lemon pulp with no membranes. Next time I will add more lemon for added "punch". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Very yummy - also good after being in the freezer for a while - makes it even more like a slushie. Great after being hot outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States