Icing for Sour Cream Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Just made this tonight - trying a new sugar cookie recipe and needed a good, sweet icing. This icing worked beautifully! Since this was kind of am experiment, I didn't add any coloring, but I will going forward. Very tasty, sweet but not overly so. Perfect balance for my new, not-so-sweet soft cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
LOVE IT, halfed the recipe and added some coloring for christmas sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
i used this recipe for my cake balls :) it turned out greaaat!!!! i was looking for a while because i didnt have confectioners chocolate and i found this and it is super easy but i would recommend making two batches cuz with the amount of cakeballs you get from a cake package you need a lot more. but i also do recommend using milk instead of water it is really easy to dip in. thankss! and it tastes great with easy ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kanri
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This is a great basic frosting and is fantastic with the Sour Cream Cookies II recipe on this site. If you don't melt/soften the butter be prepared for some wrist pain. I somehow managed to put enough water in the mix to keep the frosting from hardening. Can't quite say how I did that except for the water temperature and using a closer to 4 tsp than 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
The flavor is wonderful, and next time I will use milk and try the food processor method as it did harden very quickly. I covered it with a paper towel and worked quickly and it came out fine. I've been looking for a long time for a frosting to harden the way this does. This was a practice batch as I cheated and used Pillsbury sugar cookie dough and added rainbow sprinkles and chopped vanilla chips. This frosting was perfect spread on top with a few added sprinkles. Very pretty too! Thanks for a recipe I'll be using often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Getzville, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
i'm sorry to say, but to me this tasted like butter. i had to throw it out and not put icing on the cookies. but it was easy to make and it looked nicer than the usual glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made this icing for sugar cookies and it turned out fabulous. I needed a glaze or icing that didn't require corn starch and this did the trick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This icing was delicious but quite sweet (which is probably my fault, I added in more sugar), but which helped balance out the cookies I used them on perfectly. I used this recipe to Sour Cream Cut-Outs (recipe also on this site) and I used hot milk instead of water. I found had no problem with the frosting except it was too much of a glaze-like consistency for my liking and I was hoping to spread this on the cookie, not dip the cookies in them. I added a bit extra powdered sugar and decided I would glaze after all. The frosting dried nicely, soft on the inside, semi-soft crust. Thanks for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Delicious recipe! I followed FWILLIAMS suggestion and it turned out beautifully. Here's a tip to everyone else: to keep frosting from hardening, soak a paper towel with cold water and put it over the bowl the frosting is in. Keeps it nice and moist in the fridge or on the counter. This went great with my gingerbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This is so delicious! I needed something quick to top some strudel and this worked great. I didn't have a problem with it hardening, but I used a little less sugar than it called for and a little more vanilla. Now I want to try it on the cookies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States