Icelandic Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kathlene07
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Used parchment paper and cookies came off pan super easy. Did not put dough into the fridge, instead used a cookie scoop and then a fork to push down some. Took 14min to cook in my oven. Wasn't sold on the taste, I enjoy a much spicier cookie. But texture was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Easy. Nice alternative to all of the traditional holiday buttery cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
For a different take: Can sprinkle on a bit of a cinnamon-sugar mixture and bake. But very good as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
So yummy! I didn't have the patience to cool overnight and do these as roll cookies, so I just did 1 hour in the fridge then rolled into balls and baked as your standard drop cookie - turned out great. Had tonnes of compliments and requests for the recipe after our potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
A HIT! Tjhis is going to be a new Christmas tradition. I think I might have used too much corn syrup (more than the 1 c. a previous reviewer suggested) and the cookies fell - spread too thin. but still - crispy, soft, delicious. sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I can't believe I haven't rated these yet! I make these around Christmas time every year and they are one of my all time favorite cookies. They are a little messy and hard to work with and I've never been able to use cookie cutters with them but as a spice cookie, they're so unbelievably good. I think I'm going to make another batch today actually... just thinking about them makes my mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I've never met a cookie I didn't like and this one is no exception. However, kudos to anyone who can roll these out. I followed the recipe exactly and the dough was incredibly sticky. There is no way I could have rolled them out so I dropped them and they turned out well. My first batch took almost 14 minutes at 350 (on a baking stone), so I baked the rest of the cookies at 375. Perfect. Thank you for a really different wonderful tasting cookie! Note: the cookies got really hard after the first day so I'm thinking the extra cooking time or the temp change was the problem Will cook less time next time even if they don't seem quite done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Prepared as the recipe indicates the dough is WAY too sticky to roll out even right out of the refrigerator! Something's wrong there! The cookies also come out looking very flat. Not enough flour. Taste is improved by adding fine ground pepper to sugar and rolling a ball of dough or sprinkling it on after forming it into a dollop You'd have better luck using a Spice cookie recipe and adding pepper to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
ok:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookn'up_a_vegetarian_storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Ah, THESE were the cookies that saved the day. Delicate flavor and beautiful shiny texture. My daughter came to TX from Portland OR, and we chose 4 recipes from this site for our Christmas cookie-baking tradition. Two were horrible (too much baking soda!!), and one was just OK, but this one is an OUTSTANDING cookie!! I am clove-shy because it can overpower a recipe and give it a medicinal taste, but my daughter insisted on following the recipe, and the spices are delightful, very well-balanced. The dough was very sticky even after chilling overnight, but it could be rolled with much extra flour sprinkled about. We discovered, when we forgot one batch, that it improves the flavor, if you cook them twice as long as recommended, or to taste. They were almost burned at 18 minutes, but the flavor was developed into a very pleasant burnt-sugar taste, of which I am very fond. So cook them as long as you dare. I think they're better almost burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States