Icelandic Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I loved these cookies and so did the people who tried them. The spices are great, though I don't understand why they're called pepper cookies as there is barely any pepper nor can I taste the pepper. I will definitely make these again. Modifications: As someone else suggested, I added about 1/4 cup additional flour. Also, since I hate rolling out dough, I rolled the cookies into balls and then flattened them with the bottom of a glass (another helpful suggestion I found here!) However, instead of using flour to make the glass not stick, I used a bit of water - so that the cookies wouldn't be tougher with added flour. It suggested to bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes I think, but I found that about 14 minutes was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is my 18 year old son's absolute favourite cookie recipe. I note that the recipe has changed from 1 cup corn syrup to 3/4 cu syrup since I first printed it. This works better. The dough is sticky. Instead of rolling it, I drop it from a small scoop. It spreads into a nice circle. Much easier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The dough was extremely sticky, even after chilling in the refrigerator. I couldn't roll it with a rolling pin at all. But I just kept adding flour to my hands and my countertop surface, and pressed the dough flat with my hands before cutting it into cookies. I worried there was too much flour, but during baking the cookies absorbed all of it, and these turned out wonderfully! (I cooked them on parchment paper on my cookie sheets, so they didn't stick there.) Delicious and crispy and terrifically spicy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I made this recipe last year at Christmas and everyone loved them. I plan on making them this year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Because the dough is so sticky, I added 1/2 cup flour. I substituted dark Karo syrup for light and add 1/2 tsp. allspice. I used 1 1/2 inch cutter and spaced cookies 1 1/2 inches apart. I also shook the warm cookies in a bag with powdered sugar. Every person who tried these cookies raved about them. Of the 7 kinds of cookies I made this Christmas, this cookie was by far everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Wonderful flavor with a hint of 'something different.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I added a bit more flour and thought these were wonderful. My family is Icelandic and everyone gobbled them up. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
yummy! almost like a ginger bread, but a nice crisp cookie. I 'dropped' them instead of rolling - quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These cookies are the best Christmas cookie I have ever made. Very simple to make, and make the whole house smell like Christmas. While I was making these, my neighbors came over to taste test and said they could smell them when they opened their front door. The recipe makes a lot of cookies so you will have plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky839

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I am a big fan of gingersnaps, but now i am going to make these instead. I love the hint of pepper ( i may add a dash more next time) and found it had a nice buttery flavor. I did not chill the batter. I rolled them into balls and flattened them with the bottom of a glass sprinkled with icing sugar to prevent sticking. This was a hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States