Icelandic Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
My mother in-law came over while I was baking these cookies. She took one look at the recipe and informed me her son would not like these. Well, I'm happy to report he DID :) And he is very selective about which sweets he will eat. These are very unusual. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
These cookies are similar in taste to the Pfeffernusse I've made before, but even after chilling overnight, the dough was too soft and sticky, and impossible to roll out. Could there have been a misprint in the measurements?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
These are great cookies! The dough was sticky but after having it in the fridge overnight and rolling with flour it wasn't bad. Tastes sort of like a mild gingerbread with a peppery kick. I will definitely be making these at Christmas (served with a little mulled wine)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Because the dough is so sticky, I added 1/2 cup flour. I substituted dark Karo syrup for light and add 1/2 tsp. allspice. I used 1 1/2 inch cutter and spaced cookies 1 1/2 inches apart. I also shook the warm cookies in a bag with powdered sugar. Every person who tried these cookies raved about them. Of the 7 kinds of cookies I made this Christmas, this cookie was by far everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
Dough extremely soft and hard to work with. Flavor was not very exciting. Joe Froggers better, imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Dough was a little sticky and hard to roll out. I had to keep adding flour and put back in the refrigerator while a batch was baking. Cookies were very tasty. We made them for my son's class project. He had to make a food from Iceland. Was glad to find this recipe on the internet that was relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
I had mixed results with this recipe. The dough was extremely sticky, and virtually impossible to roll and shape. It was so soft, in fact, that the cookies spread and lost their shape in the oven, so that small circles became large flat disks. I ended up cooking much of the dough by rolling it into balls and then flattening them with a glass. On the plus side, the flavor was quite unusual and enjoyable; my friends seemed to really like them, at least in part because of the "exotic" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I made this recipe last year at Christmas and everyone loved them. I plan on making them this year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States