Icelandic Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I found this recipe on this site about 6 years ago and have been making it every year since then. The original recipe called for 1 cup corn syrup. This makes the dough too sticky, even after refrigerating it for a full 24 hrs. I would like to try it with the 3/4 cup amount and see how it goes. Also, I would recommend adding an extra 1/2 cup flour to the recipe to combat the stickiness. I always cut the cookies into star shapes and as long as you add the extra flour, and use lots while rolling, the cookies retain their shape. I always decorate the cookies with colored icing afterwards to make them attractive to the kids, since they are a bit spicy. The spiciness is a GREAT touch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
yummy! almost like a ginger bread, but a nice crisp cookie. I 'dropped' them instead of rolling - quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This is my 18 year old son's absolute favourite cookie recipe. I note that the recipe has changed from 1 cup corn syrup to 3/4 cu syrup since I first printed it. This works better. The dough is sticky. Instead of rolling it, I drop it from a small scoop. It spreads into a nice circle. Much easier as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I added a bit more flour and thought these were wonderful. My family is Icelandic and everyone gobbled them up. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
The cookie dough did not hold together, even though I added extra flour (about 1/2 cup during mixing). It took me over three hours to bake these cookies because I had to keep putting the dough back in the refrigerator. I kept adding flour, flour, more flour and had to work with only enough dough for six cookies at a time. Even so, half the time, I couldn't get the cookies up off the surface to put onto the cookie sheet because they were too sticky. These cookies had a good taste, though. But obviously there is something wrong in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This recipe does not call for enough flour. Unfortunately I didn't have the previous reviews to follow along with the recipe. After chilling the dough I realized there was no way this dough could be rolled so I stirred in 1/3 cup more flour and when I took these out of the oven they were gooey and flat. I had to throw them away. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
I loved these cookies and so did the people who tried them. The spices are great, though I don't understand why they're called pepper cookies as there is barely any pepper nor can I taste the pepper. I will definitely make these again. Modifications: As someone else suggested, I added about 1/4 cup additional flour. Also, since I hate rolling out dough, I rolled the cookies into balls and then flattened them with the bottom of a glass (another helpful suggestion I found here!) However, instead of using flour to make the glass not stick, I used a bit of water - so that the cookies wouldn't be tougher with added flour. It suggested to bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes I think, but I found that about 14 minutes was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a really nicely flavored cookie. I had some luck rolling out the dough using the no-handled bakers rolling pin, although next time I'd follow a previous reviewers advice and roll individual balls and flatten them with the bottom of a glass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
These are really different! When MIL saw the recipe she insisted my DH would not like them. Guess what? She was wrong wrong wrong. DH will only eat two kinds of cookies....Toll House and these :) Update....DD did not like these last year but this year they were her favorite :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Wonderful flavor with a hint of 'something different.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States