Icelandic Pepper Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are my favorite cookies in the whole world, but I agree with what everyone else has said about them, the dough is way too sticky, even after it has been refrigerator. And then I found that after I pulled them out of the refrigerator and baked them (using the drop cookie method), they would come out like flat discs and they were very crispy, but tasted great. I have made these cookies many times, in high altitudes, in low altitudes, but I finally found out the trick: do not refrigerate them. After I mixed all the ingredients, I decided I wasn't going to wait for the refrigeration. They came out fluffy and cake-like, and they still taste amazing. True, you do have to use the drop cookie method, but they are fantastic. Oh, and you can make them as large or as small as you want and they still take about 10 minutes to bake. They do tend to stick to the baking sheet, and I'm not sure how to remedy this, but I'm sure that there are more talented bakers out there who know the trick! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My husband LOVES these cookies - he doesn't like sweets - and these cookies give a good balance sweetness without overdoing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I am a big fan of gingersnaps, but now i am going to make these instead. I love the hint of pepper ( i may add a dash more next time) and found it had a nice buttery flavor. I did not chill the batter. I rolled them into balls and flattened them with the bottom of a glass sprinkled with icing sugar to prevent sticking. This was a hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
No matter what I did, I could not get the dough to a point where I could roll it out and cut it with any success. The dough stuck to everything,(including me!) and then melted into a flat disk that had a tendency to stick to the pan, even when allowed to cool some before removing them. For the sake of time and sanity, I started forming the dough into small balls, then flattening the tops slightly with a glass dipped in white sugar. The dough still did not hold any shape and melted into the same flat disks as when rolled. The taste was great, though, so I will probably make them again with the understanding that they are a pain to work with and are more of a "crisp" than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were excellent and a hit with everyone who tried them. However, the recipe does yield some interesting dough.. i've never personally seen dough spread THAT much. The first batch I did ended up being Icelandic Pepper LOAF. Ultimately it was still bloody amazing, but somewhat wasteful. I downsized and the rest turned out to be nicely sized cookies. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The dough was extremely sticky, even after chilling in the refrigerator. I couldn't roll it with a rolling pin at all. But I just kept adding flour to my hands and my countertop surface, and pressed the dough flat with my hands before cutting it into cookies. I worried there was too much flour, but during baking the cookies absorbed all of it, and these turned out wonderfully! (I cooked them on parchment paper on my cookie sheets, so they didn't stick there.) Delicious and crispy and terrifically spicy. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
These cookies are the best Christmas cookie I have ever made. Very simple to make, and make the whole house smell like Christmas. While I was making these, my neighbors came over to taste test and said they could smell them when they opened their front door. The recipe makes a lot of cookies so you will have plenty to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky839

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Awesome flavor! However, I had the same problem as some others. I cut the cookies, put them in the oven and ended up with really big flat disc looking things that had run together.They tasted great but were not attractive. I added extra flour a few times then decided I must have missed something. The second batch I added flour during the mixing and ended up with more disc on the 1st batch. The ball idea sounded good so that's the way I went and I had cookies I could serve to someone other than the hubs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
These cookies were wonderful, not too strong but still a bit spicy and nice and lite. One change I did end up making was to use honey rather than syrup (just didn't have any) and instead of putting them in the fridge overnight, I spooned small pile of dough onto the cookie sheet and then tapped them down with a glass dipped in sugar. worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I didn't care for this cookie. Not much pepper taste. I got hit with the ginger and clove however. It's like a bad gingerbread recipe. I added extra flour to help with the consistancy. My cookies also spread way too much, so dropping the tempature to 325 may help. The end result was more of a cracker type than a cookie. I may try this again and reduce the amount of clove and add additional pepper. I was disappointed because I love pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States