Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
At first I was only going to give this 3 stars because it was crumbly... But then I refrigerated it and it sliced wonderfully. It must be completely cool or you will have a mess. Nice flavor - I increased the lemon to 1 tsp, personal preferance. My husband loved it, so I guess I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAR88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe, however, lacks a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very Lemony and Moist. I did the cardamon powder. The extract can be found in large INDIAN stores as I am going to travel next week to get. I am going to try orange peels next time. I was pleased with cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake! I was just in Iceland and had a cake very similar. Thanks for sharing! One tip: don't worry about trying to track down cardamom extract - just use 1/2 tsp cardamom powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This made the house smell wonderful! I didn't have lemon flavouring so I added orange zest. Also had only cardamon spice so followed what others did there. Comfort load for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was fantastic! I don't usually review sweets, but this was so good I couldn't help myself. Made out of stuff I already have on hand and so tasty. A real nice cake. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This cake is delicious, tastes just like Christmas cake should! However, we cannot find an 11 inch pan, used a standard 9 inch and cooked it a little longer. Still had a gooey center but we ate it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very nice. I ground some cardamom just before adding it. And instead of using dried fruits I just added a handful of roasted almond pieces. The batter tasted very lemony, but I couldn't taste much of the lemon after baking. I think next time I will just leave out the lemon and substitute vanilla instead. Took about 1 hour and 20 minutes to bake to a moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I wanted muffins, so I added a 1/2 t. more baking powder and added milk until the consistency was a little less thick than the original recipe made. I also used currants soaked in tea instead of raisins. They came out perfect. The flavor is unique and delicate. It was just what I was looking for, something light, refreshing and different than your usual muffin fare. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good, I used 1 tsp of ground cardamom since I couldn't find the extract and next time I will add 1 tsp of the lemon extract. Very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States